Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Cystoscopy

A cystoscopy is an examination of the inside of the bladder (the baglike organ that stores urine in the body) using a thin, flexible, tube-like telescope called a cystoscope. This instrument is carefully passed up the urethra (the tube that carries urine out of the body) and into the bladder. A cystoscopy is useful for finding out what is causing your symptoms, or as a check-up for certain bladder conditions. During the procedure, the doctor may take a biopsy - a sample of the lining of the bladder - for examination in the laboratory.

Cystoscopy is routinely performed as an outpatient or day case, requiring no overnight stay in hospital. A general anaesthetic is rarely required, although a local anaesthetic jelly is usually applied to the area. In some cases, a sedative injection may be given.
 

A cystoscopy usually only takes about five minutes to perform, but you will need to allow about 45 minutes for your appointment. The procedure will not hurt, although it may be a bit uncomfortable.

 

Preparing for the procedure

There are no special preparations for having a cystoscopy. You may eat and drink as usual on the day of the procedure.

 

Cystoscopy is generally a safe procedure. For most people, the benefits of having a clear diagnosis, or quick and effective treatment, are much greater than any disadvantages. However, like all invasive medical procedures, there are some risks. These can be divided into the risk of side-effects and the risk of complications.

 

Side-effects

These are the unwanted, but usually mild and temporary, effects of a successful procedure. After a cystoscopy, you may feel a small amount of discomfort, which will settle in a few hours. Passing urine afterwards may sting and it is quite normal for the urine to contain some blood (especially if a biopsy is taken) but these symptoms should settle down within 48 hours.

Your doctor will be very experienced at performing this type of procedure, but, even so, a few cystoscopies are not successfully completed and may need to be repeated.

 

Other complications are uncommon, but occasionally a urinary tract infection or inflammation may develop, requiring treatment with medicines.

 

It is also possible for the urethra or bladder to be damaged or perforated during the procedure. This can lead to bleeding and infection, which may require treatment with medicines or surgery. The chance of complications depends on the exact type of procedure you are having and other factors such as your general health. You should ask your consultant to explain how these risks apply to you.

You will be asked to empty your bladder just before you have your cystoscopy. When anaesthetic jelly is used, it will be squeezed into the urethra using a syringe without a needle. This may sting at first and will then take effect in two to three minutes. The cystoscope will then be carefully passed into your urethra.
 
Men may be asked to try and pass urine while the cystoscope is being inserted. This is simply to help relax the muscles - no urine will actually be passed.
 
Once the end of the cystoscope is in the bladder, salt water will be passed through it to fill the bladder up and make the whole of the lining visible. A tiny light and lens enable the doctor to see if any disease is present.
 
If necessary, the doctor will take a biopsy of the bladder lining for analysis, using specialist instruments that can be passed inside the cystoscope. This procedure is quick and painless. After the examination, the cystoscope is removed quickly and easily.
 
As your bladder will be full, you will probably wish to pass urine again. 
 
If you have a sedative, the effects may last longer than you expect, so you should not drive, operate machinery or drink alcohol for 24 hours after your examination. This means that you will have to arrange for someone to take you home.
 
Once home, its sensible to take it easy for the rest of the day. Most patients feel able to resume normal activities on the following day.
 
Drinking plenty of water can help reduce the mild stinging that is normal on passing urine for a day or two after this procedure. It can also prevent the development of infection or inflammation. If you develop a high temperature, pain, persistent burning or bleeding, please contact your doctor promptly.
 

This information was published by Bupa Group's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only. It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites. Last updated August 2017.

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Get Quote or Details】

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly at 2517 5860.

By clicking “Submit” below you give consent for the personal information submitted on this page to be used as described in paragraph 1 of Personal Data Information Collection Statement.

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

膀胱鏡檢查

膀胱鏡檢查是利用幼細而可彎曲的管狀「膀胱鏡」檢查膀胱(貯存身體尿液的囊狀器官)。這儀器會被小心地從尿道(尿液排出體外所經過的管道)放進膀胱。膀胱鏡能找出病徵原因,或檢查出某些膀胱疾病。過程中,醫生可能會拿取一片活組織作為膀胱壁膜的樣本,送往化驗室檢驗。
膀胱鏡檢查常以門診或日診方式進行,病人無需留院。啫喱狀的局部麻醉劑會先塗在適當的地方,卻極少需要全身麻醉。病人也可能給注射鎮靜劑。

膀胱鏡檢查通常只需5分鐘,但最好準備預留45分鐘左右的時間。檢查不會令你感到痛楚,但或會稍為不適。

 

檢查前的準備

膀胱鏡檢查前無需作特別準備,可以在當天照常飲食。

 

膀胱鏡檢查一般都很安全。對大部分病人來說,清晰的診斷以及快捷而有效的治療所帶來的好處,遠遠大於壞處。然而,所有的外科手術都附帶若干的風險,包括手術所產生的副作用及併發症。

 

副作用

成功的治療常附帶一些副作用,但大多數副作用都是暫時性的。接受膀胱鏡檢查後,你可能會稍感不適,但數小時內便會復元。排尿時可能會感到灼痛,尿裏帶血是正常的(尤其是拿取了活組織後)。但這些癥狀應會在48小時內消失。
進行這類檢查的醫生經驗豐富,但即使如此,仍有少數膀胱鏡檢查會有錯失,需要重做。
其他併發症比較罕見,但尿道感染和發炎偶有發生,須以藥物治療。
檢查也可能會弄損或刺穿尿道或膀胱,引致出血和感染,須以藥物或手術治療。
併發症是否出現取決於檢查的類別及其他因素如身體狀況。你應向你醫生查詢這手術對你的風險程度。
進行膀胱鏡檢查前,要排清膀胱裏的尿液。麻醉啫喱會由沒有裝上針的針筒擠進尿道。起初會感到灼痛,但兩三分鐘後便會發揮效力。然後,膀胱鏡會被小心地放進尿道。
膀胱鏡插入時,男性或需要作排出尿液的模樣,這樣會幫助肌肉放鬆。
當膀胱鏡的末端到達了膀胱,鹽水會經膀胱鏡輸入和注滿膀胱,使整個膀胱壁可以清楚看到。醫生可透過微小的光源和鏡片查看膀胱有沒有異常。
 
如有需要,醫生會用可穿過膀胱鏡的專用儀器,取出一塊膀胱壁的活組織作分析。這個程序迅速而沒有痛楚。 檢查完成後,膀胱鏡會快速輕易地被取出。
因為膀胱注滿鹽水,你可能需要把尿液排出來。
如果你注射了鎮靜劑,效力可能比預期長,所以不應於檢查後的24小時內駕車、操作機器或飲酒。換言之,你需要安排別人送你回家。回家後最好盡量休息。病人大多在檢查翌日便能恢復正常活動。
喝大量的水可減輕排尿時的輕微痛楚。痛楚在檢查後持續一、兩天是正常的。喝水也可以避免感染或發炎。如果你有發燒、痛楚、持續灼痛或流血,請立刻通知醫生。
此資料由保柏集團的健康資訊顧問團隊發布,並已經合適的醫療或臨床專業人員審閱。盡該等人員所知,有關資料為近期資料,並根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫。然而,保柏(亞洲)有限公司並不就此內容是否完整或準確作出任何陳述或保證。
 
此頁內資料及本頁所提述的第三方網站內任何資料均僅供指導之用,不應依賴此內容以替代合適或專業的醫療建議,亦無意取代醫學診斷或治療。保柏(亞洲)有限公司對閣下因使用或依賴此資料所蒙受的任何損失或損害概不負責。
 
第三方網站並非由保柏擁有或控制,任何人士均有可能查閱該等網站並在該處發表訊息。保柏對該等第三方網站的內容或能否查閱該等網站概不負責。最後更新於2017年8月。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【索取報價及詳情】

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可致電2517 5860聯絡我們。

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。