Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Insomnia

Insomnia is a feeling of not being able to get enough sleep. This is related to finding it hard to get to sleep, waking up without having had enough sleep, or having unrefreshing sleep. People differ in their need for sleep, and everyone has the occasional night of disturbed sleep. Almost a quarter of the population frequently experience sleeping difficulties, and it becomes more common with age.
 
The exact function of sleep is not fully understood, but the effects of lack of sleep suggest that its main function is to "re-charge" the body's batteries. There are also psychological benefits. One phase of sleep (called the rapid eye movement or REM phase because the sleeper's eyes can be seen to move rapidly behind the lids) is thought to be the time when dreams occur. People who don't sleep for long enough or who sleep very lightly, become deprived of REM sleep. They can become irritable and anxious and, in extreme sleep deprivation may even have hallucinations. The irritability that results from their insomnia has an effect on partners, families and work colleagues. Statistical studies indicate that people suffering from insomnia had a higher than average chance of dying from cancer, heart disease or stroke.
 

  • Transient – lasts only a few nights to a few weeks
  • Intermittent – happens occasionally but not every night
  • Chronic – happens most nights and lasts three or more weeks

Typically, there is no single cause for insomnia but a number of factors are known to contribute:

  • Lifestyle – eating late at night, jet lag, hunger, alcohol, caffeine, stimulant drugs, including nicotine
  • Environment – noise (e.g. partner snoring), uncomfortable bed or bedroom
  • Physical health problems – sleep apnoea, asthma, tinnitus, pain, prostate problems, indigestion
  • Psychological – stress, grief
  • Psychiatric – depression, anxiety, ania
  • Medication – e.g. certain tablets for asthma and treatments for nasal congestion, vertigo and depression

Rarely, insomnia occurs even when none of the above are present. This is known as 'primary' insomnia.

 
  • Difficulty getting to sleep (taking more than 45 minutes to get to sleep)
  • Difficulty staying asleep (frequent awakenings and difficulty getting back to sleep)
  • Early morning waking
  • Feeling tired and unrefreshed in the morning
Psychological therapies
Psychologists can teach simple relaxation techniques. They can also provide "talking therapy" (psychotherapy) which can help people come to terms with various life events – e.g. bereavement, marital problems etc. that may be triggers of insomnia. Psychological "tricks" can also be taught – e.g. telling you to try and keep awake, which often has the opposite effect.
 
Specific sleep therapy includes cognitive behaviour therapy (CBT) which deals with misconceptions about sleep such as believing that frequent short naps during the day are good for you.
 
Medication
If work or leisure activities are disturbed by daytime sleepiness, or if you wake up feeling unrefreshed and irritable, you should consult your doctor. Some doctors feel that prescription-only medication – known as hypnotics – should be started as soon as these problems start, while others believe that sleep hygiene methods should be tried first. In all cases, drugs should be used for as short a period as possible, and certainly no longer than two weeks. Beyond this, there's a danger that dependency (addiction) to sleeping tablets, will develop. A doctor will also be able to detect any underlying cause of insomnia that also needs treatment. Depression, for example, may need treatment with antidepressants as well as sleeping medication. The doctor may prescribe the following drugs:
 
Benzodiazepines
  • Nitrazepam is useful and effective but can be habit forming in long term. It continues to work for several hours (medium-acting) which means it has the potential to cause hangover drowsiness the following morning.
  • Temazepam and lormetazepam are shorter acting, and less likely to cause daytime drowsiness.
All benzodiazepines can affect hand-eye co-ordination, which can impair driving ability and operating machinery the next day. Because of their potential for causing dependence, doctors are now discouraged from prescribing benzodiazepines for insomnia except for very short term use in specific situations, such as in people who are very distressed.
 
Z-Drugs
Newer drugs – zopiclone (zimovane), zolpidem (stilnoct), zaleplon (sonata) – are very short acting. In theory they should cause less daytime drowsiness than the benzodiazepines and have less potential for causing dependence, but there are few scientific studies comparing the two groups. Zopiclone can cause a metallic taste in the mouth. Other side-effects affecting these drugs include indigestion and headache.
 
Antidepressants for insomnia
Antidepressants – if a person with insomnia has depression, some 'tricyclic' antidepressant medicines – such as dothiepin and trazodone – also have a sedative effect. These drugs do not cause dependence.
 
There are a number of things that people affected by insomnia can do to help themselves:
  • Avoid taking cat-naps during the day.
  • Reduce the number of cups of coffee, tea or cola drinks you drink, especially later on in the day.
  • Only drink alcohol in moderation. It may make you feel sleepy but will tend to make you wake up after a short time.
  • Stop smoking – it can make breathing difficulties while asleep more likely.
  • Take regular exercise but avoid strenuous activity immediately before going to bed.
  • Try to get into a daily routine. Go to bed the same time each night and get up the same time each morning.
  • Avoid heavy or rich meals, especially in the few hours before bedtime.
  • Work out how many hours sleep you can manage with before daytime sleepiness becomes a problem. Becoming unnecessarily stressed over insomnia can lead to a vicious cycle.
  • If you can't sleep, get up and read in a dim light until you feel sleepy. Don't watch television or lie in bed thinking about how much sleep you are missing.
  • Other activities that can create a relaxed mood include taking a warm bath, having a milky drink, or listening to soothing music.
  • Mentally dealing with the day's unfinished business is also helpful. Writing down any worries to deal with the next day may help to clear them from the mind and prevent them re-surfacing in the early hours.
 

This information was published by Bupa Group's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only. It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites. Last updated August 2017.

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Get Quote or Details】

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly at 2517 5860.

Member get member

Rewards for referrers

Get HK$300 supermarket coupons for every successful referral!

No limit on the referrals you can make!

Rewards and enrolment discount for referees

The referees can also get HK$300 supermarket coupons if they successfully enrol in any Bupa individual insurance scheme* PLUS the following first-year subscription / premium discount on designated schemes # :

  • 【Limited-time offer】 Bupa HERO VHIS Plan - Up to 41% off for single enrolment and up to 50% off for family enrolments
  • 【New】 Bupa SAFE Critical Illness Insurance Scheme - 20% off for single enrolment, 40% off for 2 or more enrolments
  • Other selected individual medical schemes: up to 30% off

The promotion is valid until 31 December 2022. Act now!


To enjoy the referral reward, the referee must submit the Bupa Member-get-Member Programme Registration Form (PDF, 209KB)together with the Bupa health insurance application.
*The referee must successfully enrol in any Bupa individual insurance scheme with first year’s annual premium or subscription over HK$3,000 or equivalent through a Bupa insurance intermediary.
#Subject to terms and conditions of the programme.

Bupa Member-get-Member programme Terms and Conditions (PDF, 286KB)

Bupa Hero VHIS Plan enrolment offer terms and conditions (PDF, 282KB)

Bupa Safe Critical Illness Plan Welcome Promotion Offer Terms and conditions (PDF, 267KB)
I have read and accepted the Personal Data Information Collection Statement .
By clicking "Submit", I confirm that I give consent to Bupa using my personal data for direct marketing of its related insurance products and services.

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

失眠

失眠指人感到睡眠不足,與難以入睡、於睡眠不充足情況下醒來或睡眠質量不好有關。每人對睡眠的需要都不同,且都會偶爾遇上睡眠不佳的情況。約四份一人經常難於入睡,年齡越大越常見。雖然至今仍未能完全掌握睡眠的確切功能,但從缺乏睡眠的影響中,我們可以知道,睡眠的主要功能是恢復身體機能和帶來心理上的好處。睡眠有一段時間稱為「快速動眼期」(入睡者雙眼在眼皮下快速顫動),一般認為是入睡者正在做夢。睡眠時間不足的人或容易睡醒的人,便缺乏快速動眼期,他們會變得容易發怒和緊張;過度缺乏睡眠的,甚至會產生幻覺。失眠引起的暴躁使其伴侶、家庭和同事均受影響。統計研究指出,失眠者患上癌症、心臟病或中風而死亡的平均機會率較高。

  • 短暫性 ─ 只維持數晚或數星期
  • 間歇性 ─ 偶爾發生,但不是每晚都會發生
  • 長期性 ─ 經常發生,並持續三星期或以上

失眠一般沒有單一成因,但會由下列幾個因素引起:

  • 日常生活 ─ 晚上太遲進食、飛行時差、飢餓、酒精、咖啡因、刺激性藥物(包括尼古丁)
  • 環境 ─ 噪音(如伴侶的鼻鼾聲)、不舒適的床或睡房
  • 身體毛病 ─ 睡眠窒息症、哮喘、耳鳴、疼痛、前列腺疾病、消化不良等
  • 心理 ─ 感到壓力、悲傷
  • 精神 ─ 抑鬱、焦慮、狂躁
  • 藥物 ─ 如某些哮喘藥片,以及治療鼻塞、暈眩和抑鬱症的藥物

即使沒有以上的情況,失眠也會發生。這種失眠十分罕見,稱為「原發性失眠」。

  • 難以入睡(需45分鐘以上才能入睡)
  • 難以持續入睡(頻頻醒來及難以再入睡)
  • 很早便睡醒
  • 早上感到疲倦和沒精打采
心理治療
心理學家能提供簡單的鬆弛療法。他們也會提供「談話治療」(心理治療),幫助人們面對生活中的不如意事,如喪失親友、婚姻問題等,因為這些都可能是失眠的誘因。一些「心理把戲」也會有效,例如:當你告訴自己要盡量保持清醒時,通常反而會令你入睡。
特殊的睡眠治療也能幫助你,例如認知行為治療會處理對失眠有關的錯誤觀念(例如以為日間經常小睡對身體有益)。
 
藥物治療
如果你的工作或閒餘活動受日間瞌睡干擾,或睡醒後感到缺乏精神和易怒,便應看醫生。有些醫生認為上述情況一旦出現,便應立即處方藥物,但另一些醫生則認為應先嘗試採用幫助入睡的方法。在所有病例中,服用藥物的時間不應太長,必須少於兩個星期。時間太長,便會有依賴安眠藥(上癮)的危險。醫生也會找出令你失眠的原因,以便對症下藥。例如,抑鬱症患者可能需要同時服用抗抑鬱藥及安眠藥。醫生可能會開處以下藥物:
 
Benzodiazepines
Nitrazepam十分有效,但長期服用會令人對其產生依賴。它的功效可持續數小時(功效介乎短暫與持久之間),所以可能會令使用者翌日早上感到暈眩。
Temazepam 和 lormetazepam 功效短暫,較少引致日間昏睡。
 
所有 benzodiazepines 都會影響手部和眼部的協調,因此翌日無論駕駛或操作機器,都會有一定影響。由於benzodiazepines會令人上癮,醫生只會在特殊的情況下(例如給有失眠困擾的抑鬱症患者作短期治療),才會處方這類藥物。
 
Z-drugs
Zopiclone, Zolpidem and Zaleplon
較新的藥物,如zopiclone (zimovane)、zolpidem (stilnoct)及zaleplon (sonata),功效非常短暫。這些藥物比起benzodiazepines,應該會較少引致日間昏睡和上癮,但將這兩類藥物進行比較的科學研究不多。這些藥物的副作用包括消化不良和頭痛,而zopiclone可能會令口腔有苦澀味。
 
抗抑鬱藥
抗抑鬱藥──如果失眠者患有抑鬱症,服用一些「三環抗鬱劑」(tricyclic antidepressant),如 dothiepin 和 trazodone ,也能起安眠作用。這些藥物不會使人上癮。
 
失眠的非藥物治療
失眠者可嘗試下列各項幫助入睡的方法:
  • 避免日間小睡
  • 減少飲用咖啡、茶或可樂等飲料,尤其臨近午夜時
  • 控制酒量 ─ 酒會令你昏昏欲睡,但短時間便會醒來
  • 戒煙 ─ 吸煙會令睡覺時較容易出現呼吸困難
  • 定期做運動,但避免睡前做劇烈運動
  • 嘗試每天在同一時間睡覺和起床
  • 避免進食過量,尤其在睡前數小時
  • 在日間瞌睡尚未成為問題前,計算出你每天需要睡多少小時。為失眠而煩惱會造成惡性循環
  • 如果你不能入睡,可起床及在柔和的光線下看書,直至感到有睡意。不應看電視或躺在床上計算錯失了多少睡眠時間
  • 其他可使心情輕鬆的活動包括用熱水洗澡、喝奶類飲品或聽輕柔的音樂。
  • 理智面對日間未完成的工作 ─ 用紙筆寫下明天要處理的事情,有助把煩惱暫時拋諸腦後,避免思前想後,無法入睡。
此資料由保柏集團的健康資訊顧問團隊發布,並已經合適的醫療或臨床專業人員審閱。盡該等人員所知,有關資料為近期資料,並根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫。然而,保柏(亞洲)有限公司並不就此內容是否完整或準確作出任何陳述或保證。

此頁內資料及本頁所提述的第三方網站內任何資料均僅供指導之用,不應依賴此內容以替代合適或專業的醫療建議,亦無意取代醫學診斷或治療。保柏(亞洲)有限公司對閣下因使用或依賴此資料所蒙受的任何損失或損害概不負責。

第三方網站並非由保柏擁有或控制,任何人士均有可能查閱該等網站並在該處發表訊息。保柏對該等第三方網站的內容或能否查閱該等網站概不負責。最後更新於2017年8月。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【索取報價及詳情】

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可致電2517 5860聯絡我們。

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。