Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Is varicella-zoster contagious

This information was published by Bupa's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only.  It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites.

Source :

Bupa Medical Consultant

When infected with varicella-zoster virus, blisters will be found on the skin. Since these blisters, elongated in nature, resembles the body of the snake, hence it is commonly known to the public as "snake" in Hong Kong. 

There are several rumours surrounding its infection. Some mistakenly believe that death is doomed when "snake-like" blisters were found surrounding the body, although this is not the case. And despite its snake-like appearance, it has nothing to do with snakes.

Quite a lot of people had contracted chickenpox during infantry. When recovered, varicella zoster virus that cause chickenpox will rest within the spinal nerve roots for the rest of your life. If such virus is triggered, they will be reactivated and transmitted along the nerves to bring about varicella zoster on the skin. Thus, one will be free from this disease unless he or she has once been infected with chickenpox.

If you have never been infected with varicella zoster but come into contact with patient’s blisters, what you will contract is chickenpox rather than varicella zoster. Chances of infection caused by daily contact are very low.

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Get Quote or Details】

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly at 2517 5860.

By clicking “Submit” below you give consent for the personal information submitted on this page to be used as described in paragraph 1 of Personal Data Information Collection Statement.

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

「生蛇」會傳染嗎﹖

此資料由保柏的健康資訊顧問團隊發布,並已經合適的醫療或臨床專業人員審閱。盡該等人員所知,有關資料為近期資料,並根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫。然而,保柏(亞洲)有限公司並不就此內容是否完整或準確作出任何陳述或保證。

此頁內資料及本頁所提述的第三方網站內任何資料均僅供指導之用,不應依賴此內容以替代合適或專業的醫療建議,亦無意取代醫學診斷或治療。保柏(亞洲)有限公司對閣下因使用或依賴此資料所蒙受的任何損失或損害概不負責。

第三方網站並非由保柏擁有或控制,任何人士均有可能查閱該等網站並在該處發表訊息。保柏對該等第三方網站的內容或能否查閱該等網站概不負責。

文章來源:

保柏醫學顧問

「生蛇」 在醫學上的正式名稱為 帶狀皰疹,生病後會在皮膚上出現帶小水泡的疹子。因為疹子的分佈多為長條形,好似蛇一樣,所以一般人稱為「生蛇」,其實與蛇完全沒有關係。也有人以為「生蛇」如果繞過全身便會死,其實只是個誤會。

許多人在兒童期都生過水痘,病癒後,引起水痘的帶狀皰疹病毒 (Varicella Zoster Virus) 會終生潛伏在脊椎神經根內,一旦因某種原因受到刺激,病毒便會再次活躍起來,並延著神經遊走至皮膚上,引發帶狀皰疹。所以,除非你已患過水痘,否則是不會患上帶狀皰疹的。

但如果你從未感染過帶狀皰疹病毒,又直接接觸了患者的水泡,便有可能受到感染,但所引發的是水痘而非帶狀皰疹。一般日常生活、工作接觸引起感染的機會很微。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【電話查詢優惠】

致電 2517 5860 ,查詢個人醫保計劃,隨時可享高達85折 + 賺取 HK$1.5 = 1 「亞洲萬里通」里數!*

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。