Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Preparing for your consultation

This information was published by Bupa's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only.  It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites.

Being diagnosed with a condition can be stressful and worrying. Understanding your diagnosis and the treatment available is important so you can be fully involved in making any decisions that affect your health. To make sure you're informed about how it may affect your life it's essential that you have a conversation with your doctor. This means asking the right questions.

Initial appointments with your doctor usually last for around 10 minutes. Thinking about questions you'd like answered in advance will allow you to clearly communicate with your doctor and help you to get the information you need.

Dr Steve Iley, our Medical Director of Health Insurance, offers his advice about how to prepare for your consultation and the questions you should be asking.

If you've just been diagnosed with a condition or you're still looking for a diagnosis, it's likely that you'll have lots of questions. Unfortunately, it's easy to forget to ask important questions when you're in the consultation room.

If you think your appointment might go on for longer than 10 minutes let reception know when you book it. They may be able to give you a longer slot with your GP. Some specialist appointments often vary in length so preparation is even more important.

Can you explain what my condition is and how it may affect my day-to-day life?

Dr Iley: "Whether you have a minor health concern or a long-term condition, it's important that you understand how it will affect you. Knowing how your condition works will be the first step in your journey to recovery. Once you understand your condition, you'll be able to start looking into your treatment choices. This is also a good time to make any lifestyle changes that will make living with your condition easier. You can also work out if you'll need to take any time off work so you can give your employer plenty of notice.

Why do you think I've developed this condition?

Dr Iley: "This question will help you find out the cause of your condition so you can look for ways to stop it getting worse or help ease your symptoms. You can also identify self-help measures that will make your life a little easier.

Can this condition cause other health problems for me?

Dr Iley: "Sometimes a condition can lead to other health problems. If you're aware of these from the beginning, there may be things you can do to prevent them.

What should I do if I start to feel unwell? What symptoms should I look out for?

Dr Iley: "It's important that you can recognise the symptoms of your condition or any complications related to your condition in case you need immediate treatment. It's a good idea to tell your close friends and family of what to look out for.

Is my condition hereditary?

Dr Iley: "Some conditions get worse over time, so informing family members that your condition may be hereditary could allow them to get treatment before it develops".

It's possible that you'll need tests to make sure you get an accurate diagnosis.

What does this test involve and what should I expect?

Dr Iley: "Any medical procedure, including tests, can be daunting. Managing your expectations will help you to deal with any worry you're feeling ahead of the test. Knowing what the test involves beforehand also gives you the opportunity to raise any concerns you have before your appointment".

Are there any risks associated with this test and how do they apply to me?

Dr Iley: "Your doctor should explain any risk involved but if they haven't it's important to ask about how they apply to you. Understanding the risks will help you to make a decision about your tests based on research as well as your own personal values.

Are there any alternatives to this test?

Dr Iley: "Your doctor will have suggested a specific test for a reason. But make sure you have an open discussion about your options so you can make a decision together. Being aware of all the options available to you will allow you to choose an alternative if you're unhappy with the test your doctor has suggested.

How long will I have to wait for my test results?

Dr Iley: "Asking this question can give you peace of mind if you haven't had your results for a couple of days. Your doctor should be able to give you an estimated timeframe. However, it's important to remember that this is just an estimate and occasionally things get held up.

How should I prepare for my test?

Dr Iley: "Some tests have specific requirements that you'll need to follow so make sure you're aware of them before the day of your appointment. Not knowing you have to stop taking medication or follow a special diet could result in your appointment being postponed, which could slow down your treatment."

You should have a thorough understanding of your condition and your different options before you make any decisions about your treatment. The questions you should ask may vary based on your individual circumstances. However, it's a good idea to ask your doctor questions about your options, what the treatment involves and what will happen following your treatment.

What are my treatment options?

Dr Iley: "It's good to be aware of all your different treatment options so you know you're making an informed decision. Although your doctor may suggest a specific treatment, you should make a joint decision based on research and your personal values.

What are the risks associated with the different treatment options?

Dr Iley: "Most treatments come with possible risks and side-effects. These will be different for different people so it's important that you're aware of any that are related to you and your treatment. Don't be afraid to ask your doctor to explain further if there's anything you don't understand.

Will the treatment cure my condition?

Dr Iley: "Unfortunately not all conditions can be cured. Asking your doctor about the likelihood of your condition being cured after your treatment will allow you to manage your expectations. Your treatment may be to help relieve your symptoms, so it's important that you find this out beforehand.

Who will carry out my treatment?

Dr Iley: "Finding out some information about the doctor carrying out your treatment and their experience may help to manage any nerves or worries you have prior to your appointment.

Can the condition come back after treatment?

Dr Iley: "Your journey to recovery doesn't always stop when you've finished your treatment. Ask your doctor about taking care of yourself after your treatment and how likely it is that your condition will come back. Depending on your condition and how you developed it, you may need to make changes to your lifestyle and diet to keep looking after yourself.

What are the alternatives to having treatment?

Dr Iley: "Depending on your condition and what caused it, you might be able to make changes to your lifestyle to ease the symptoms of your condition. It's usually recommended that you try self-help measures before considering treatment or surgery".

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Get Quote or Details】

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly at 2517 5860.

By clicking “Submit” below you give consent for the personal information submitted on this page to be used as described in paragraph 1 of Personal Data Information Collection Statement.

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

為就診作好準備

此資料由保柏的健康資訊顧問團隊發布,並已經合適的醫療或臨床專業人員審閱。盡該等人員所知,有關資料為近期資料,並根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫。然而,保柏(亞洲)有限公司並不就此內容是否完整或準確作出任何陳述或保證。

此頁內資料及本頁所提述的第三方網站內任何資料均僅供指導之用,不應依賴此內容以替代合適或專業的醫療建議,亦無意取代醫學診斷或治療。保柏(亞洲)有限公司對閣下因使用或依賴此資料所蒙受的任何損失或損害概不負責。

第三方網站並非由保柏擁有或控制,任何人士均有可能查閱該等網站並在該處發表訊息。保柏對該等第三方網站的內容或能否查閱該等網站概不負責。

確診患病的確令人飽受壓力、憂心忡忡!了解您的診斷和治療方法是十分重要的因為這樣您才可參與作出影響自己健康的決定。要知道治療如何影響您日後的生活,就應與醫生傾談,向醫生提出恰當的問題以了解更多

初診大約需時10分鐘,您可事先想想欲提出的問題,有助您與醫生溝通清楚,也可讓您獲取所需的資訊。

保柏醫療保險醫學總監Dr Steve Iley 就有關就診前的準備和提問給予一些建議。

如您才剛確診患病,又或您仍待確診,您可能會滿腦子疑問。可惜,很多時在診症室時就會把重要的問題忘記得一乾二淨。

如您需要多於10分鐘的診症時間,可在預約時先告知接待員,他們可能為您安排較長的時間以便您與醫生傾談。有些專科醫生的診症時間長短不一,因此事先作好準備尤為重要。

您可否講解我現時的病況,以及會如何影響我的日常生活?

Dr Iley 指出:「無論您患有小毛病還是長期疾病,了解疾病如何影響您是很重要的。簡言之,了解您的病況,就是邁向康復的第一步。只要您知道病況如何,就可以開始了解可供選擇的治療方案。這也是調整您生活模式的良機,以讓您更容易面對和應付疾病。您也應該計劃一下何時請假,以便您的上司有足夠的時間作好安排。」

我為何會患上此病?

Dr Iley指出:「這問題有助您找出患病的成因,以便尋找方法,防止疾病惡化或紓緩症狀。您也可想想有何幫助自己的方法,令您在患病期間過得好一點。」

此病會引致其他健康問題嗎?

Dr Iley指出:「有時候,某些疾病會引致其他健康問題。如您一早發現患病,或可以找些方法防止出現其他健康問題。」

我開始感到不適了,怎麼辦?我還應留意哪些症狀?

Dr Iley指出:「能夠辨識所患疾病的症狀或任何與疾病相關的併發症是很重要的,萬一有這些情況出現,就可即時接受治療;您也應告訴家人和親友應注意的症狀。

我的疾病是否遺傳?

Dr Iley指出:「有些疾病可隨時間惡化,因此應將疾病可能遺傳的事實告訴家人,讓他們在病發前先行接受治療。」

您可能需要進行檢測,以便作出正確的診斷。

這檢測包括什麼項目?我應有什麼預期?

Dr Iley指出:「任何醫療程序 (包括檢測),都會令人害怕和擔憂。能夠作出恰當的預期,可減低您在檢測前的憂慮。先行知道檢測的內容,就可藉著就診的機會提出您的疑問。」

檢測會有風險嗎?會發生在我身上嗎?

Dr Iley指出:「醫生會向您解釋所涉及的風險,但如沒有,您也應該詢問有關風險會否發生在您身上。了解潛在風險,就可根據研究數據和您的個人價值,決定是否進行檢試。」

檢測以外還有其他選擇嗎?

Dr Iley指出:「您的醫生會基於某些原因而建議特定的檢試,但您也應與醫生抱持開放的態度商討其他選擇,以便雙方作出決定。了解所有適合的方案,就可在您不滿意醫生的建議時作出其他選擇。」

需要等待多久才有檢測結果?

Dr Iley指出:「提出這個問題,就毋須天天在乾等結果。您的醫生應該會告訴您預計的時間;但請謹記,這只是預計而已,有時候我們還須等待。」

我應如何準備進行檢測?

Dr Iley指出:「有些檢測有特別的要求,您必須遵守,因此您必須在檢測前知道有關要求。如檢測前不知道要停服藥物或遵行特定飲食,就可能須要延遲檢測,亦拖慢您的治療進度。」

您應該透徹了解您的病況和不同的治療選擇後,才為治療作出任何決定。就治療應該詢問的問題因人而異,但您應向醫生問及各種治療選擇、治療包括甚麼程序,以及接受治療後會如何。

我有何治療選擇?

Dr Iley指出:「您應該在清楚各種不同的治療選擇下,作出知情的決定。雖然醫生可能會建議特定的治療,您還應根據研究數據和您的個人價值共同作出決定。」

不同的治療選擇涉及哪些風險?

Dr Iley指出:「大部分治療都存在風險和副作用,情況因人而異,因此您需要知道任何與您和您的治療相關的任何情況。如您有任何不明白之處,不要害怕要求醫生作進一步解釋。」

治療可治癒我的疾病嗎?

Dr Iley指出:「並非所有疾病都能治癒的。接受治療後向醫生問及疾病治癒的可能性,讓您對病況有恰當的預期。治療可能是為紓緩症狀,因此您應在治療前加以了解。」

誰為我進行治療?

Dr Iley指出:「就診前查看主診醫生的資料,以及其所擁有的經驗,都有助解除您的擔憂。」

治療後會復發嗎?

Dr Iley指出:「完成治療並不一定代表您已康復。您可向醫生問及如何在治療後照顧自己,以及治療後復發的機會有多大。視乎您的病況及病因而定,您可能需要調整生活模式和飲食,以好好照顧自己。」

治療以外有其他選擇嗎?

Dr Iley指出:「視乎您的病況和病因,您可能可改變生活模式,以紓緩病況。我們一般建議病人在考慮治療或手術前,先嘗試一些幫助自己的方法。」

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【電話查詢優惠】

致電 2517 5860 ,查詢個人醫保計劃,隨時可享高達85折 + 賺取 HK$1.5 = 1 「亞洲萬里通」里數!*

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。