Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Endometriosis

Many women experience painful periods. In a minority of cases, this can be caused by endometriosis, a condition in which small pieces of the womb lining (the endometrium) grow outside the womb. Endometriosis occurs in between 1-15% of women of childbearing age. In many women it causes no symptoms, but in others it can cause severe pain and may reduce the chances of becoming pregnant.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional. 

During the menstrual cycle the lining of the womb, known as the endometrium, gradually thickens and fills with blood as it prepares for the arrival of a fertilised egg. If the egg is not fertilised, the womb lining breaks down and is lost as the monthly period. Sometimes small pieces of endometrium grow on organs outside the uterus. This is called endometriosis. The endometriosis goes through the same monthly changes as the womb lining; sometimes swelling and bleeding into the body cavity, which can cause inflammation and pain. Rubbery bands of scar tissue, called adhesions, may form. These can tie organs and tissues together and affect the normal working of organs.

Endometriosis most commonly occurs on the ovaries, on the tubes that carry eggs from the ovaries to the womb (Fallopian tubes), and on the tissues that hold the womb in place. When it occurs on the ovaries the endometriosis can forms cysts (endometrioma). These are also called chocolate cysts because of the brown fluid they contain. They may not cause any pain and may only be found during an internal examination to check fertility. However if they burst, their contents spill into the body cavity where they can cause severe pain and result in adhesions. Less commonly endometriosis can occur on the bladder or bowel or on other organs.

No one knows for certain what causes endometriosis or why some women get endometriosis and others do not. Some people believe it is caused by some menstrual fluid flowing backwards up the Fallopian tubes towards the ovaries, instead of flowing out of the body through the vagina.

Which women get endometriosis?

Endometriosis can occur in any woman of childbearing age. Endometriosis can run in families. It is more common in white people than in other ethnic groups, in women who give birth for the first time after the age of 30, and in infertile women.

Pelvic pain, which feels like period pain, is the most common symptom of endometriosis. The symptoms can vary, with some women who have endometriosis having no symptoms at all, while others have severe pain. The pain usually occurs around the time of a period, but in some women the pelvic pain can be constant. It may be felt on one side of the body, in the middle or both sides. Some women find that sexual intercourse before or during a period is painful. There may also be changes to periods, such as a small loss of blood before the period is due (spotting), irregular or heavy periods. Endometriosis on the bowel or bladder may cause swelling of the lower abdomen and pain when going to the toilet, or blood in the stools during a period. Symptoms of endometriosis often disappear during pregnancy or after the menopause. In some women, difficulty becoming pregnant is the first sign of endometriosis.
None of the symptoms of endometriosis are unique to the condition so the only way to be sure that a woman has endometriosis is to look inside the abdomen. This needs to be done in hospital using a laparoscope, a thin metal viewing tube that is inserted through the skin just below the belly button. The examination of the internal organs is generally done under general anaesthetic by a gynaecologist. Sometimes a small piece of the endometriosis will be removed for testing. The examination takes about 30 minutes and can usually be done without an overnight stay.

Treatments for endometriosis aim to:

  • relieve pain
  • shrink endometriosis or slow its growth
  • remove the endometriosis
  • keep or bring back fertility

The type of treatment will depend on the womans age, the severity of her symptoms, whether she wants to have children, and the severity of the endometriosis. Without treatment, endometriosis stays the same or gets better in most women, but in about one in three women it gets worse. It is important to discuss the condition with a doctor and agree a plan. If the endometriosis is mild, then drug treatment may be effective. In more severe endometriosis, surgery may be required. Sometimes it is necessary to remove the womb or one or both ovaries.

Pain relief

Analgesics (such as paracetamol, anti-inflammatories and codeine may help to control the pain if the symptoms are mild. Complementary medicines (such as acupuncture, aromatherapy, herbal remedies, homeopathy etc) may also help.

Hormonal treatment to shrink the endometriosis

Just like the normal endometrium, endometrial cells need the hormone oestrogen to survive and grow. Hormonal medicines that reduce the amount of oestrogen in the body will reduce the size of the endometriosis. There are several hormonal medicines that can be used:

  • combined oral contraceptives (the pill)
  • progestogens
  • danazol
  • gestrinone
  • gonadotropin-releasing hormone (GnRH) analogues

All of these hormonal medicines work equally well overall but have different side effects. The doctor may suggest trying several medicines to find one that works and causes fewest side effects.

A barrier method of contraception (such as condoms) should be used while taking hormonal medicines (except oral contraceptives) because they can damage a developing baby.

Treatment with medicines wont cure endometriosis and symptoms usually return when the medicine is stopped. Pain returns in about 2 in 5 women 12 months after stopping treatment, and in about half after 5 years.

Surgery

The aim of surgery is to remove as much of the endometriosis as possible while keeping the womans ability to have children. Surgery is recommended:

  • if the pieces of endometriosis are larger than 4 - 5cm (1.5 - 2 inches)
  • if there are many adhesions or they are interfering with the normal workings of internal organs such as the bowel
  • if the endometriosis is blocking the Fallopian tubes and causing infertility
  • if there is severe pain which cannot be controlled with analgesics or hormones. The endometriosis may be cut away, or destroyed with heat produced by an electrical device or by using a laser. This can often be done through small cuts in the belly, using a laparoscope (keyhole surgery), but may require an open operation.

 

Endometriosis returns in about 1 in 5 women five years after having surgery. Hormonal medicines are sometimes given after surgery to try to delay this return. However, the only sure way to prevent endometriosis returning is to remove the ovaries. This is only considered for women with severe symptoms as a last option, or in women who are not planning to have a baby.

Tests that may be done

Ultrasound, X-ray and MRI (magnetic resonance imaging) may be used to see how the endometriosis is responding to treatment.

Endometriosis may reduce the chances of a woman being able to get pregnant. In severe cases this may be due to blockage of the Fallopian tubes, but even mild endometriosis can reduce fertility. Medicines used to treat endometriosis do not improve fertility, but surgery can if the endometriosis is interfering with the normal workings of the womb and ovaries. Some women with endometriosis who want to have a baby may need fertility treatment.

The National Endometriosis Society (UK)
http://www.endo.org.uk

Website written by a patient:
http://www.endometriosis.org.uk

Website written by a doctor:
http://www.womens-health.co.uk

National Womens Health Information Center (US)
http://www.4woman.gov/faq/endomet.htm

Endometriosis Association
http://www.endometriosisassn.org/

Endometriosis Research Center
http://www.endocenter.org/

The Endometrosis Association (Victoria)
http://www.endometriosis.org.au

You might also like

Preparing for Pregnancy

A woman's body goes through many changes over the nine months of pregnancy and the developing baby makes increasing demands.

Read more

Cervical cancer

There are two main types of cervical cancer. Sometimes, cervical cancer can be a mixture of the two types.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

子宮內膜異位

很多女性在經期時都會感到痛楚。這些痛楚有小部分是由子宮內膜異位引起的。子宮內膜異位,是指部分子宮壁(子宮內膜)長於子宮外,大約有1% 至15%介乎生育年齡的婦女患有子宮內膜異位。許多患者並沒有任何病徵,但有些患者卻會劇痛難當,並有機會減低懷孕的機會。

以下容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切料均根可靠而有醫學證明的料而編寫並經保柏的醫學顧問考,不能取代合格的醫護員給下之人建  

在月經週期中,子宮內膜會逐漸增厚和充血,為迎接受精卵作好準備。假如卵子沒有受精,子宮內膜會分解脫落,形成月經。但有小部分子宮內膜或會在子宮外面的器官生長,形成子宮內膜異位。異位的子宮內膜和正常的子宮內膜一樣,每月都會經過上述的週期性變化;但這些子宮內膜有時會腫脹和出血,讓血液流到體腔內,令患者發炎和感到痛楚。同時,一些稱為黏連的強?疤痕組織可能會因而形成,把身體器官和組織連結在一起,影響身體器官的正常運作。

最常出現子宮內膜異位的地方是卵巢、把卵子由卵巢輸送到子宮的輸卵管,以及一些將子宮固定於適當位置上的組織。卵巢的子宮內膜異位可形成腫囊,即子宮內膜瘤。腫囊內有棕色液體,所以又叫「巧克力腫囊」。它們不會引起痛楚,因此只能在一些檢查生育能力的身體檢查中發現。萬一腫囊破裂,腫囊內的液體會流進體腔,導致劇痛和形成黏連。較罕見的子宮內膜異位可在膀胱、腸道或其他器官出現。

子宮內膜異位最常見的病徵是近似經痛的盆腔痛,而個別病徵則因人而異。有些子宮內膜異位的患者可能沒有任何病徵,而有些患者卻會感到劇痛難當,她們通常會在經期前後感到痛楚;而有些患者則會長期感到盆腔痛。痛楚可能會集中在身體其中一旁、中間或散佈在身體兩旁。有些患者在來經前或經期中性交會感到痛楚。另外,患者的經期也可能會出現變化,例如她們在經期前會有輕微出血(滴血)、月經失衡或經血過量等現象。腸道或膀胱的子宮內膜異位可引致下腹腫脹、如?時疼痛或經期時糞便帶血。可是,子宮內膜異位的病徵通會常在懷孕期間或停經後消失。對於某些婦女,患上子宮內膜異位的第一個表徵就是難於成孕。
由於子宮內膜異位沒有明顯的病徵,所以檢查腹腔的內部情況,是確定婦女是否患上子宮內膜異位的唯一方法。這項檢查需要在醫院進行,醫生會將一個名為腹腔鏡的幼金屬探望管,經肚臍下方的皮膚插入腹腔內。這檢查一般會在全身麻醉的狀態下進行,由婦科醫生負責。在某些情況下,醫生會取出小部分異位的子宮內膜作檢驗。檢查需時約30分鐘,病人一般無需留院。

子宮內膜異位的成因至今未明,也沒有人知道為何子宮內膜異位只會在某些女性身上出現的原因。有些人相信,那是因為月經未有經由陰道流出體外,而經由輸卵管倒流至卵巢所致。

哪些女性會患上子宮內膜異位?

子宮內膜異位可在任何介乎生育年齡的婦女身上發生,也可以由家族遺傳。白種人患子宮內膜異位的機會比其他種族的人為高,而30歲後才首次生育以及不育的婦女,有更大機會患有子宮內膜異位。

治療子宮內膜異位的目的包括:

  • 減輕痛楚
  • 縮小異位的子宮內膜或減慢它們的生長
  • 清除子宮內膜異位
  • 保持或恢復患者的生育能力

治療方式主要取決於患者的年齡、病徵的嚴重程度、患者是否希望生育孩子以及病情是否嚴重等。對於大部分沒有接受治療的患者,子宮內膜異位的情況通常會維持不變或有所改善。可是,在每3個患者中,約有1個的病情會惡化。因此,患者必須與醫生商討病情,並共同尋求治療的對策。藥物對治療輕微的子宮內膜異位或有幫助;而病情較嚴重的則可能需要動手術。有時醫生可能需要把病人的子宮移除,又或移除一個甚至兩個卵巢。

減輕痛楚

止痛劑 ─ 例如撲熱息痛、抗發炎劑及可待因,都有助緩和輕微痛楚。

輔助療法 ─ 如針炙、香薰療法、草藥療法和順勢治療等,也可能有幫助。

以激素治療法縮小子宮內膜異位
子宮內膜細胞就好像正常的子宮內膜一樣,需要雌激素來維持生命和生長。因此,一些能降低體內雌激素水平的激素藥物,可幫助縮小子宮內膜異位。激素藥物有多種可供選擇,包括:

  • 混合口服避孕藥
  • 黃體酮
  • danazol
  • gestrinone
  • 促性腺激素釋出因子GnRH的類似物

以上所有激素性藥物的作用大致相同,但各有不同的副作用。醫生可能會建議病人試服數種藥物,以找出那一種最為有效以及帶給患者最少副作用。

當服用激素藥物時(口服避孕藥除外),病人應同時採用阻礙性避孕法(如使用避孕套),因為藥物可損害發育中的胎兒。

使用藥物不可治癒子宮內膜異位,病徵通常在停服藥物後再出現。在每5個女性中,約有2個在停用藥物的12個月後會再感到痛楚,約有一半則會在5年後再次出現疼痛的情況。

手術

手術旨在盡量清除異位的子宮內膜,同時不損女性的生育能力。如有以下情況,病人便應接受手術:

  • 子宮內膜異位的面積大於4厘米至5厘米(1.5吋至2吋)
  • 有大量黏連,或體內器官(如腸道)的正常運作受黏連影響
  • 子宮內膜異位阻塞輸卵管,導致不育
  • 出現止痛劑或激素不能控制的劇痛。子宮內膜異位可能會被切除,或以電力儀器或激光所發出的熱力消除。通常手術會透過使用腹腔鏡在腹部上的小切口進行(鎖眼切口手術),也有可能需要進行剖腹手術

每 5個子宮內膜異位的患者中,約有1人會在接受手術5年後病情復發。醫生通常會在手術後為病人開處激素藥物,以延遲病情復發。可是,現時唯一能夠完全阻止子宮內膜異位復發的方法,是切除病者的卵巢。病情嚴重的患者在不得已的情況下才會考慮這個辦法。而切除卵巢的手術也可用於不打算生育的婦女。

可作的檢驗

超聲波、X光和磁力共振造影均可觀察子宮內膜異位對治療的反應。

Some complications of endometriosis are listed below:

 

  • Scar tissue can attach to organs in your pelvis and abdomen (tummy). These scars are known as adhesions and can cause pain. They may also cause your bowel to become blocked.
  • You may have difficulty getting pregnant (reduced fertility). This may affect up to a half of those women who have endometriosis.
  • Endometriosis increases your risk of getting  ovarian cysts. These can rupture and cause pain and reduced fertility.
  • You may have a slightly increased risk of ovarian cancer if you have endometriosis.

Speak to your GP or doctor if you have any questions about the complications of endometriosis.

子宮內膜異位有機會使女性不育。嚴重的子宮內膜異位可能是由輸卵管受阻塞引致,但輕微的子宮內膜異位也可減低生育能力。治療子宮內膜異位的藥物不會改善婦女的生殖能力,但如果因為子宮內膜異位損害子宮和卵巢的正常運作而需接受手術,這便可改善生殖能力。患有子宮內膜異位的女性如希望生育,可能需要接受生育治療。

1. Can treatment for endometriosis help me get pregnant?

The good news is that around seven out of 10 women with endometriosis will eventually get pregnant without medical help. However, some women with endometriosis do have problems with reduced fertility.

Having hormonal treatment for endometriosis can help ease your pain symptoms (see our treatment section above). However, doctors don’t think it increases your chance of getting pregnant.

There are treatments that can help improve your chance of getting pregnant if you have endometriosis. However, there isn’t yet one, agreed ‘best option’. This is something you should discuss with your gynaecologist. What treatment you may have will depend upon several factors including the type and severity of endometriosis and your preferences.

Having laparoscopic surgery to remove or destroy patches of endometriosis may improve your fertility. This is more likely to help if you have mild endometriosis, rather than moderate to severe disease.

After discussion with your gynaecologist, you may decide to opt for one of the forms of medically-assisted reproduction (assisted conception, fertility treatments). These include intrauterine insemination and in vitro fertilisation (IVF). See our topic on female infertility for more information.

2. I have endometriosis – am I more likely to get cancer?

Endometriosis is a benign condition, which means it isn’t a type of cancer.

However, having endometriosis does seem to slightly increase your chance of getting some types of ovarian cancer. Doctors aren’t sure why this is. So there’s lots of research going on to try and find out more about the link between endometriosis and ovarian cancer.

If you’re concerned about your risk of ovarian cancer, talk to your GP or gynaecologist.

3. Will a hysterectomy cure my endometriosis?

If other treatments haven’t worked, and you’re sure that you don’t want to become pregnant in the future, then a hysterectomy may be an option. This is an operation to remove your uterus (womb).

Your gynaecologist may recommend you have your ovaries removed at the same time, as this gives you a better chance of your symptoms ending. Removing your ovaries removes the hormones they produce. It’s these hormones which cause the areas of endometriosis to swell and bleed.

Having your womb and ovaries removed, along with areas of endometriosis, may make your symptoms go away for good. It doesn’t always work though – some women still have symptoms of endometriosis after the operation.

If you have your ovaries removed, this may cause you to have symptoms similar to the menopause, such as hot flushes and mood changes. Your doctor may recommend that you take hormone replacement therapy (HRT) to deal with these. They’ll discuss with you how soon after your hysterectomy you can start HRT.

For more information about your treatment options, or if you have any questions, speak to your doctor. They’ll explain the options available to you, as well as their benefits and risks.

This information was published by Bupa Group's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only.  It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites.

 

 

The National Endometriosis Society (UK) 
http://www.endo.org.uk

Website written by a patient:
http://www.endometriosis.org.uk

Website written by a doctor:
http://www.womens-health.co.uk

National Womens Health Information Center (US)
http://www.4woman.gov/faq/endomet.htm

Endometriosis Association
http://www.endometriosisassn.org/

Endometriosis Research Center
http://www.endocenter.org/

The Endometrosis Association (Victoria)
http://www.endometriosis.org.au

相關文章

懷孕前的準備

女性的身體於懷孕的9個月期間會有很多轉變,而成長中的嬰兒對母體的需求也日益增加。要懷孕過程順利,應保持身體在最佳的健康狀態。

閱讀更多

子宮頸癌

子宮頸癌分為兩大類型,有些病例是兩類型混合。

閱讀更多

膀胱頸懸吊術

女性應力性尿失禁是由骨盆底部肌肉和膀胱頸瓣膜軟弱所導致的。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【電話查詢優惠】

致電 2517 5860 ,查詢個人醫保計劃,隨時可享高達85折 + 賺取 HK$1.5 = 1 「亞洲萬里通」里數!*