Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Fibroids

Fibroids are benign (non-cancerous) growths of the muscle of the uterus (womb). They are sometimes called myomas, fibromyomas or leiomyomas, but most people call them fibroids. Around 20% of women get fibroids.
 
Fibroids grow very slowly and tend not to cause any problems or symptoms in younger women. They can cause symptoms as they grow bigger, but even so, at least half of all fibroids cause no problems at all.
 
Fibroids can be tiny or very large and a woman may have one or many. Their growth is stimulated by the hormone oestrogen, which is released from the ovaries during the reproductive years. Fibroids tend to become smaller after the menopause when oestrogen levels fall.
 
There are different types of fibroids, named according to where they are found. The problems that they may cause depend on their location:

 

  • Intramural fibroids are found within the muscular wall of the uterus.
  • Subserosal fibroids grow outwards from the outside wall of the uterus. They can become very large.
  • Submucosal fibroids grow from the inner wall of the uterus and can take up space inside the uterus. These account for only 5% of all fibroids.

Fibroids are not the same as polyps. Polyps grow from the lining of the uterus (the endometrium) rather than from the underlying muscle as is the case with fibroids.

 

There are different types of fibroids, named according to where they are found. The problems that they may cause depend on their location:
  • Intramural fibroids are found within the muscular wall of the uterus.
  • Subserosal fibroids grow outwards from the outside wall of the uterus. They can become very large.
  • Submucosal fibroids grow from the inner wall of the uterus and can take up space inside the uterus. These account for only 5% of all fibroids.
Fibroids are not the same as polyps. Polyps grow from the lining of the uterus (the endometrium) rather than from the underlying muscle as is the case with fibroids.
Fibroids are most common in women in their 40s and 50s, towards the end of the reproductive years. They are more common in women of Afro-Caribbean origin, who also tend to be affected at a younger age. Fibroids are more likely to be found in women who have had no children or who only have one child. Obesity (being very overweight) is also associated with an increased risk of developing fibroids. They do not appear to run in families.
Heavy periods
Up to half of all women with fibroids have heavy periods. In some cases, this can lead to anaemia. Fibroids do not usually cause any problems with the menstrual cycle, such as bleeding between periods.
 
Pressure symptoms
Fibroids tend to enlarge the uterus. This may lead to lower abdominal discomfort or backache, or may press on the bladder causing such as needing to pass urine more often than normal. The uterus may also press on the rectum causing constipation. Some women experience pain or discomfort (dyspareunia) during sexual intercourse because of fibroids.
 
Problems with fertility
Fibroids can affect the shape and internal environment of the uterus. They can make it more difficult to conceive but they only account for about 3% of the total cases of infertility.
 
Pain
Fibroids can cause discomfort because of pressure symptoms. Heavier periods can lead to increased period pains. Severe pain is quite rare but can occur if a fibroid grows on a stalk, which then twists (torsion) or if a fibroid outgrows its blood supply causing it to break down (degeneration).
A doctor may suspect fibroids if he or she feels an enlarged uterus during a pelvic examination (an "internal"). An ultrasound scan is a useful way of confirming the presence of fibroids. Here, a probe is placed on the woman's lower abdomen and sound wave signals are translated into pictures on a screen.
 
Fibroids can be detected by chance in this way when women have ultrasound scans during pregnancy. Fibroids can also be detected by hysteroscopy, where a small telescope is passed through the cervix to view the inside of the uterus, or by laparoscopy, where a camera is passed into the abdomen through a keyhole incision and the outer wall of the uterus can be seen.
Fibroids don't need to be treated if they cause no symptoms, or only mild symptoms, and if the diagnosis is certain. A repeat ultrasound scan may be carried out to ensure that the fibroids are not growing too rapidly.
 
Drugs
There are no long-term drug treatments that can "cure" fibroids. However, drugs are available that can help relieve symptoms.
 
One group of drugs aimed at reducing the size of fibroids are called gonadotrophin releasing hormone analogues (GnRH analogues). These drugs stop the ovaries from producing hormones. Their effect is sometimes described as a "medical menopause" and they can cause menopausal symptoms such as hot flushes. However, there are increased risks of harmful side effects such as osteoporosis (thinning of the bones) if they are given for more than six months. They may be used to control symptoms in women who are close to the menopause for whom symptoms may soon be about to improve anyway.
 
GnRH analogues are sometimes given before surgery on the uterus because shrinking the fibroids makes the operation easier.
 
Surgery
  • Hysterectomy – this is a major operation to remove the uterus, usually via a "bikini-line" cut in the abdomen or, if the fibroids are not too large, via the vagina.
  • Myomectomy – this is the removal of individual fibroids, leaving the uterus intact. It is usually only considered for women who still wish to have a baby.
  • Hysteroscopic resection – fibroids within the uterus can sometimes be removed during hysteroscopy using a hot wire loop (diathermy).
  • Uterine artery embolisation – this is a new technique in which the blood supply to a fibroid is blocked, causing the fibroid to shrink. It is still undergoing research and is not yet widely available.
 
Fibroids and pregnancy
Fibroids are often detected at a routine scan during pregnancy. They do not necessarily cause any problems. However, there is an increased risk of miscarriage, premature labour and bleeding in women who have fibroids so it's important to consider seeking specialist care from an obstetrician.
 
Most fibroids (around 80%) do not increase in size during pregnancy despite the extra hormones. Fibroids sometimes cause a severe abdominal pain during pregnancy if they break down (this is called red degeneration). The treatment for this is rest and painkillers.
 
Fibroids and cancer
Cancer arising in a fibroid is very rare. However, surgery to remove fibroids may still be recommended if there are symptoms of pain, bleeding and/or rapid growth of fibroids, especially in a post-menopausal woman.

This information was published by Bupa Group's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only. It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites. Last updated August 2017.

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Limited Time Offer】

Enjoy up to 23% discount* + Earn 1 MoneyBack point for every HK$5 premiums in our selected health insurance products.

*The offer is applicable to designated schemes. Please contact us at 2517 5860 for details.

By clicking “Submit” below you give consent for the personal information submitted on this page to be used as described in paragraph 1 of Personal Data Information Collection Statement.

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

子宮肌瘤

子宮肌瘤是由子宮肌肉形成的良性(非癌性)腫塊,又稱為肌瘤、子宮肌瘤或平滑肌瘤,但大部分人都稱它們作子宮肌瘤。
 
子宮肌瘤的生長速度緩慢,在較年輕的女性身上通常不會引起任何問題或病徵。當子宮肌瘤增大後,身體可能會出現病徵。然而,最少有半數的子宮肌瘤不會引起任何問題。
 
子宮肌瘤體積不一。在女性的體內,可能會出現一個或多個子宮肌瘤。而雌激素(女性於生育年齡間,從卵巢分泌的荷爾蒙)會剌激它們的生長。當雌激素的水平在更年期後開始下降時,子宮肌瘤也會逐漸縮小。
 
子宮肌瘤有不同種類,依照它們的位置而命名,它們引起那些問題也視乎它們的位置:
  • 壁內的子宮肌瘤,位於子宮壁肌肉內層。
  • 漿膜下的子宮肌瘤,在子宮的外壁向外生長,體積可增至十分大。
  • 粘膜下的子宮肌瘤,在子宮的內壁生長,佔據子宮內一定的空間。它們約佔所有子宮肌瘤的5%。
子宮肌瘤並不等同息肉。息肉由子宮內膜生長,並不像子宮肌瘤般從下層的肌肉生長。

子宮肌瘤有不同種類,依照它們的位置而命名,它們引起那些問題也視乎它們的位置:
  • 壁內的子宮肌瘤,位於子宮壁肌肉內層。
  • 漿膜下的子宮肌瘤,在子宮的外壁向外生長,體積可增至十分大。
  • 粘膜下的子宮肌瘤,在子宮的內壁生長,佔據子宮內一定的空間。它們約佔所有子宮肌瘤的5%。
子宮肌瘤並不等同息肉。息肉由子宮內膜生長,並不像子宮肌瘤般從下層的肌肉生長。
子宮肌瘤在40多歲至50多歲的女性身上最為常見,也就是婦女即將結束生育年齡的時期。子宮肌瘤也較容易在未經生育,或只生產過一次的女性身上出現。癡肥(嚴重過重)也增加出現子宮肌瘤的危機。子宮肌瘤不會在家族中遺傳。
經血過量
多達半數患有子宮肌瘤的女性會有大量月經。在一些病例中,可引致貧血。子宮肌瘤通常不會導致任何月經週期的問題,如在兩次經期之間出血。
 
壓力性的病徵
子宮肌瘤會令子宮擴大,可導致下腹不適或背痛,或者壓著膀胱,令排尿次數比平常頻密。子宮也可能會壓著直腸,導致便秘。子宮肌瘤會導致一些女性於性交時感到痛楚或不適(交媾困難)。
 
生殖能力的問題
子宮肌瘤可影響子宮的形狀和內部情況,它們可令女性難以受孕。但由子宮肌瘤引起的問題只佔所有不育問題的3%。
 
痛楚
子宮肌瘤可導致壓力性的病徵,引起不適。如月經份量較多,可令經痛的程度增加。雖然嚴重的痛楚頗為罕見,可是若子宮肌瘤形成蒂,當蒂扭轉時,或者子宮肌瘤因血液供應不足而損壞,便會出現嚴重的痛楚。
醫生如在進行骨盆(內部)檢查時發現子宮增大,他可能會推斷有子宮肌瘤生長。超音波掃描是確定有沒有子宮肌瘤的有效方法。醫生會把探測器放在接受檢查的女性的下腹上,音波訊息會轉化為畫面,顯示在螢光幕上。
 
 
偶爾,女性在懷孕期間接受的超音波掃描可發現子宮肌瘤。子宮鏡檢查也可以檢驗子宮肌瘤,過程中,細小的內窺鏡會通過子宮頸被放進子宮,觀察子宮內部。腹腔鏡檢查也有相同作用,過程中,攝錄鏡會通過鎖眼切口放進腹部,以觀察子宮外壁。
如診斷中確定子宮肌瘤沒有引起病徵,或只導致輕微的病徵,患者便無需接受治療。超音波掃描可重覆進行,以確保子宮肌瘤並沒有快速生長。
 
藥物
 
沒有一種長期性的藥物可治癒子宮肌瘤。可是,藥物可幫助減輕病徵。
 
Gonadotrophin releasing hormone analogues(類生殖釋放激素)是其中一類藥物,它可將子宮肌瘤縮小。這類藥物會停止卵巢製造荷爾蒙。它們帶來的生理影響有時稱為「醫藥性更年期」,並可引致如潮熱等更年期病徵。可是,如果使用這些藥物超過六個月,出現有害副作用的機會便會增加,如骨質疏鬆(骨組織變薄)。類生殖釋放激素可用於接近更年期的女性,以控制更年期的徵狀。事實上,這些徵狀很快會得到改善。
 
醫生有時會於進行子宮手術前使用類生殖釋放激素,這是由於它可縮小子宮肌瘤,使手術較容易進行。
 
手術
  • 子宮切除術──這是移除子宮的手術,子宮通常會透過腹部上的切口切除;如子宮肌瘤體積不大,可通過陰道切除。
  • 子宮肌瘤切除術──這是移除個別子宮肌瘤的手術,手術後子宮仍然完整無缺。此手術一般只會用於仍有生育計劃的女性。
  • 子宮鏡式切除──子宮內的子宮肌瘤有時可在子宮鏡檢查期間,以灼熱的線圈移除(透熱法)。
  • 子宮內動脈栓塞術──這是一項新的技術,手術會堵塞子宮肌瘤的血液供應,令子宮肌瘤縮小。這方法仍處於研究階段,並未被廣泛使用。
 
子宮肌瘤與懷孕
 
子宮肌瘤通常會在女性懷孕期間,於例行掃描中檢驗出來,它們不一定會引致任何問題。可是,患有子宮肌瘤的女性,會有較大機會出現流產、早產和出血等危險,所以這些婦女應向婦科醫生尋求專業的意見。
 
雖然體內的賀爾蒙在懷孕期間會增加,但大部分子宮肌瘤(約80%)並不會在這期間增大。假如子宮肌瘤在懷孕期間受損,可導致嚴重腹痛。治療嚴重腹痛的方法是多作休息和使用止痛藥。
 
 
子宮肌瘤和癌症
 
由子宮肌瘤引致的癌症十分罕見。可是,如果有痛楚、出血或子宮肌瘤快速生長等徵狀出現,尤其是更年期後的婦女,應動手術把子宮肌瘤切除。
此資料由保柏集團的健康資訊顧問團隊發布,並已經合適的醫療或臨床專業人員審閱。盡該等人員所知,有關資料為近期資料,並根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫。然而,保柏(亞洲)有限公司並不就此內容是否完整或準確作出任何陳述或保證。
 
此頁內資料及本頁所提述的第三方網站內任何資料均僅供指導之用,不應依賴此內容以替代合適或專業的醫療建議,亦無意取代醫學診斷或治療。保柏(亞洲)有限公司對閣下因使用或依賴此資料所蒙受的任何損失或損害概不負責。
 
第三方網站並非由保柏擁有或控制,任何人士均有可能查閱該等網站並在該處發表訊息。保柏對該等第三方網站的內容或能否查閱該等網站概不負責。最後更新於2017年8月。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【索取報價及詳情】

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可致電2517 5860聯絡我們。

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。