Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Pre-eclampsia

Pre-eclampsia

This information was published by Bupa's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only.  It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites. 

 

Pre-eclampsia is a condition that can develop in pregnant women. Women with pre-eclampsia have high blood pressure and protein in their urine. Pre-eclampsia can cause eclampsia (fits) and other serious problems. In the baby it can result in growth problems and a premature birth. Severe pre-eclampsia can be life-threatening for both mother and baby.

Pre-eclampsia is a condition that starts in your placenta: the organ that joins you to your baby. You can get it any time after 20 weeks of pregnancy and even after you give birth.

The placenta supplies your baby with the blood and nutrients it needs to grow and develop. If you have pre-eclampsia, your placenta doesn’t provide enough blood to your baby. This causes your blood pressure to rise and affects how well your kidneys work. As a result of this, protein leaks into your urine. This can also cause fluid to leak from your blood circulation into your ankles and fingers, which can cause swelling.  The three main features of pre-eclampsia are:

  • high blood pressure
  • protein in your urine
  • swelling

 

About one in 20 pregnant women get pre-eclampsia, although for many of these women it’s only mild.

 

It’s also important to remember that you can have high blood pressure while you’re pregnant without having pre-eclampsia. This is called gestational hypertension and it can happen after 20 weeks of being pregnant. It doesn’t mean you have pre-eclampsia, although it increases your risk of getting it as your pregnancy progresses.

Mild pre-eclampsia doesn’t usually have any symptoms. It’s often picked up at routine antenatal appointments, which is why it’s so important to attend these. You will have your blood pressure checked and your urine tested regularly at your antenatal appointments.

You might get symptoms if pre-eclampsia becomes more severe. These can include:

  • headache – usually at the front of your head (which are not relieved by painkillers)
  • problems with your vision, such as flashing lights and blurred vision
  • abdominal (tummy) pain – usually on the right, just below your ribs
  • feeling or being sick
  • feeling confused
  • feeling very unwell
  • shortness of breath
  • sudden swelling of your hands, face or feet
  • not going to the toilet much

 

If you have any of these symptoms, contact your midwife or GP straightaway, or go to the maternity unit at your local hospital.

Pre-eclampsia can be difficult to diagnose as there are lots of different signs and symptoms, and you might not have symptoms at all. Most women find out they have it at antenatal appointments.

When you go for your regular antenatal appointments, you will have your blood pressure checked and your urine tested.

If your blood pressure is raised above 140/90mmHg after 20 weeks of being pregnant, and you have protein in your urine, you’ll be referred to a hospital maternity unit. Your doctor or midwife will also refer you if you have high blood pressure even if you don’t have protein in your urine.

You’ll have blood tests to check how well your liver and kidneys are working, and how well your blood is clotting. You might have a placental growth factor (PIGF)- based test. PGIF is a hormone that helps new blood vessels to grow in the placenta and if this is very low, it suggests that you may have pre-eclampsia. It involves giving a sample of blood and you can only have it if you’re between 20 and 34 weeks pregnant, but it isn’t used in all hospitals yet.

You may also have an ultrasound scan to check the growth of your baby, and an assessment of your baby's heart rate and movement called a cardiotocograph (CTG). This involves sitting in a chair for about 30 minutes with a soft belt around your tummy, which picks up your baby's heartbeat.

Doctors don't know the exact cause of pre-eclampsia. However, it seems to start with a problem with the placenta. In pre-eclampsia the placenta doesn’t develop properly, which means there is a reduced blood supply to it.

Certain factors are thought to increase your risk of getting pre-eclampsia. You might be more likely to get pre-eclampsia if:

  • this is your first baby or your first baby with a new partner
  • It’s been 10 years or more since you last had a baby
  • You have a close family history of pre-eclampsia – if your mother or sister had pre-eclampsia, you’re more likely to develop it
  • you're having twins or other multiple pregnancies
  • you're over 35
  • you have other medical conditions including high blood pressure, diabetes and kidney disease
  • you're very overweight, ie you have a body mass index (BMI) of over 30

 

You’re also more likely to get pre-eclampsia if you’ve had it in a previous pregnancy, but it should be milder than the first time. And you might not necessarily get it again – many women who have had pre-eclampsia before go on to have a normal, healthy pregnancy. But it’s important to let your midwife and GP know if you’ve had pre-eclampsia before as they’ll want to monitor you more closely. Make sure you attend all your antenatal appointments and have your blood pressure checked regularly.

The treatment for pre-eclampsia depends on how severe the condition is, your health and that of your baby, and how many weeks pregnant you are.

If the pre-eclampsia is mild, and you have no symptoms, it may not be necessary for you to be admitted to hospital and you can stay at home. Your midwife and doctor will monitor your blood pressure and test your urine regularly. You will probably also have regular blood tests.

If the pre-eclampsia becomes more severe, you will probably be admitted to hospital where you and your baby can be monitored closely. You will probably have the following tests when you’re in hospital:

  • Blood pressure checks about every four hours, or more frequently depending on how serious your condition is.
  • Urine collection over 24 hours to measure the exact amount of protein in your urine, followed by daily protein urine checks.
  • Blood tests, including kidney, liver and blood clotting tests.
  • Ultrasound scans to check the health of your baby.
  • Monitoring of your unborn baby’s heart rate to check his or her wellbeing.

 

Giving birth

The only ‘cure’ for pre-eclampsia is giving birth, although it sometimes gets worse for a while before it gets better. Sometimes pre-eclampsia will develop for the first time after you’ve given birth. So your midwife will continue to measure your blood pressure after you’ve had your baby. Everyone’s different. So when you should have your baby will depend on your health and your baby’s and how far along your pregnancy you are. You might need to have your baby early before you reach the full term of your pregnancy. And you might possibly need to have a caesarean delivery. 

Your doctor and midwife will talk this through with you to make a plan. Ask them if you’re unsure about anything or have questions.

Medicines

Your doctor may prescribe you medicines, such as a beta-blocker tablet called labetalol to help reduce your blood pressure. These can’t cure pre-eclampsia, but they may prevent your blood pressure becoming very high, which can cause serious health problems. You might be able to take tablets, but if your blood pressure is very high, you may need medicines through a drip.

If your pre-eclampsia is very severe, your doctor may also give you medicines to prevent fits. An example is a medicine called magnesium sulphate, which is usually given through a drip.

If you don’t get the right treatment for pre-eclampsia, it may develop into a condition called eclampsia. This happens in one in every 4,000 pregnancies. It can develop at any time during the second half of your pregnancy, during labour or soon after you give birth.

Eclampsia can cause fits (seizures) as a result of pre-eclampsia, which look similar to epileptic fits. If a fit goes on for a long time, both you and your baby may not receive enough oxygen and this can be life-threatening.

Severe pre-eclampsia can also lead to liver, kidney and lung failure and problems with how your blood clots. A combination of all of these serious health problems is called HELLP syndrome. This can also be life-threatening and the only treatment is for you to give birth. This might mean that you have to have your baby early, which can cause other health problems for your baby.

There is nothing specific that you can do yourself in order to prevent pre-eclampsia or reduce your risk of developing it. If you’re at high risk of developing pre-eclampsia, your doctor may suggest you take aspirin every day. This helps to improve the blood supply to your placenta. You’ll usually need to take it from 12 weeks of pregnancy until your baby is born, but only take it if your doctor has advised you to. 

It may also help to get some exercise and lose any excess weight, but talk to your doctor about how to do this safely.

1. I had pre-eclampsia in my first pregnancy. Am I more likely to get it again?

 

Answer

Yes. If you had pre-eclampsia in a previous pregnancy, you're at an increased risk of developing the condition if you become pregnant again.

 

Explanation

Your risk of developing pre-eclampsia during pregnancy goes up if you had pre-eclampsia in a previous pregnancy. However, this will vary for everyone and doesn’t mean that you will definitely have pre-eclampsia in a subsequent pregnancy. Many women who have had pre-eclampsia previously go on to have a normal, healthy pregnancy.

If you do develop pre-eclampsia again, it's likely to be less severe than the first time. When you become pregnant, it's very important that you tell your midwife and GP about your previous pre-eclampsia. Make sure you attend all your antenatal appointments and have your blood pressure checked regularly. You should also tell your midwife or GP if you're worried about anything or have any symptoms that you think might be caused by pre-eclampsia. This means that if you do develop pre-eclampsia, it can be treated straight away.

 

2. What happens after my baby is born?

 

Answer

You will probably need to stay in hospital for a few days after your baby is born. During this time your blood pressure and any symptoms you have will be monitored closely. You should be given an appointment to see your obstetrician (a doctor who specialises in pregnancy and childbirth) between six and eight weeks after the birth. If your blood pressure is still high, you will be referred to a specialist.

 

Explanation

Some women develop pre-eclampsia after their baby is born. If this happens, you will need to stay in hospital for a few days until you’re well enough to go home. You may need to carry on taking medicines to treat high blood pressure.

While you’re in hospital you will be monitored closely, with regular blood pressure checks. If you have any symptoms, such as a headache or abdominal (tummy) pain, tell your midwife or doctor straight away.

If your blood pressure is still high six weeks after your baby is born, or there is still protein in your urine, you may be referred to a specialist.

If you have had pre-eclampsia, you should have a postnatal appointment with your obstetrician between six and eight weeks after your baby is born. During this appointment you can discuss the condition and what happened, and talk to your doctor about your health and any pregnancies in the future.

 

3. Will there be any long-term effect on my health, and my baby’s, if I have had pre-eclampsia?

 

Answer

Most women and their babies have no long-term health problems after pre-eclampsia. However, pre-eclampsia may increase your risk of developing high blood pressure in the future.

 

Explanation

Most women will have no long-term effects on their health after pre-eclampsia.

However, if you have had pre-eclampsia, you’re at greater risk of developing high blood pressure later in life, compared with a woman who hasn’t had it. It’s not known whether pre-eclampsia causes this increased risk, or whether those women who develop high blood pressure were generally at increased risk, even before they developed pre-eclampsia.

A few women also have some long-term damage to their kidneys, though this risk is small.

Most babies and children who have been affected by pre-eclampsia have no future health problems. However, if your baby was born very early because of pre-eclampsia or if he or she did not get enough oxygen, they may have long-term health problems. Talk to your midwife and doctor for more information.

 

4. Can I fly if I have pre-eclampsia?

Answer

No, it’s best not to fly because of the risks to you and your baby. Talk these through with your doctor or midwife.

Explanation  

If you have pre-eclampsia, it can increase your risk of getting a blood clot (deep vein thrombosis – DVT) when you travel.

You can usually travel safely by air when you’re pregnant, although most airlines won’t let you travel if you’re later on in your pregnancy. You’ll need to get a letter from your GP or midwife if you’re past 28 weeks to state that everything is normal. And once you get to 37 weeks you won’t be able to fly at all (or 32 weeks if you’re having twins). But if you have pre-eclampsia, you shouldn’t fly because of the extra risk involved. And you’ll also need to be at home to attend your appointments with your doctor who will want to monitor your condition.

It’s important to think about the risk of DVT, and to hold off on travelling until after you’ve had your baby. If you can’t delay your trip, talk to your doctor and give your airline a call before you buy your ticket.

 This information was published by Bupa Group's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only.  It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites.

Further information

Sources

  • PLGF-based testing to help diagnose suspected pre-eclampsia (Triage PLGF test, Elecsys immunoassay sFlt-1/PLGF ratio, DELFIA Xpress PLGF 1-2-3 test, and BRAHMS sFlt-1 Kryptor/BRAHMS PLGF plus Kryptor PE ratio. National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), 11 May 2016. www.nice.org.uk
  • Hypertension in pregnancy: diagnosis and management. National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), 25 August 2010. www.nice.org.uk
  • Pre-eclampsia. BMJ Best Practice. bestpractice.bmj.com, last updated 6 December 2016
  • Preeclampsia. Medscape. emedicine.medscape.com, updated 15 September 2016
  • A low-lying placenta (placenta praevia) after 20 weeks. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published December 2011
  • Personal communication, Dr Evelyn Ferguson, Consultant Obstetrician Gynaecologist, and Medical Director at ABC 4D baby scan clinics, 28 December 2016
  • Pre-eclampsia. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published August 2012
  • Hypertension in pregnancy. NICE Clinical Knowledge Summaries. cks.nice.org.uk, last revised April 2015
  • Preeclampsia and high blood pressure during pregnancy. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. www.acog.org, published September 2014
  • Grivell RM, Alfirevic Z, Gyte GML, et al. Antenatal cardiotocography for fetal assessment. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2015, Issue 9. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD007863.pub4
  • Kilby MD, Bricker L. Management of monochorionic twin pregnancy. BJOG 2016; 124:e1–e45. doi: 10.1111/1471-0528.14188
  • Q&A. Action on Pre-Eclampsia. www.action-on-pre-eclampsia.org.uk, accessed 7 December 2016
  • Eclampsia. Medscape. emedicine.medscape.com, updated 7 July 2016
  • HELLP syndrome. PatientPlus. patient.info/patientplus, last checked 25 May 2016
  • Map of Medicine. Postnatal care. International view. London: Map of Medicine; 2016 (issue 4)
  • Izadi M, Alemzadeh-Ansari MJ, Kazemisaleh D, et al. Do pregnant women have a higher risk for venous thromboembolism following air travel? Adv Biomed Res 2015; 4:60. doi: 10.4103/2277-9175.151879
  • International travel and health. World Health Organization. www.who.int, accessed 12 December 2016

Related information

Breast cancer

Breast cancer is a tumour in the breast that contains cancerous cells. A breast tumour is a lump created by an abnormal and uncontrolled growth of cells. It can either be malignant (cancerous) or benign (not cancerous). Nine out of 10 breast lumps are benign.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Call us to enjoy special offers】

Enjoy up to 15 % off & earn 1 Asia Mile for every HK$1.5 premium for designated schemes!
Call us at 2517 5860 for details.*

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

妊娠毒血症

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。 

妊娠毒血症是孕婦疾病,指孕婦出現高血壓和蛋白尿。妊娠毒血症可導致子癇(痙攣)及其他嚴重病症,亦可能導致胎兒發育問題和早產。嚴重的妊娠毒血症對母親及胎兒均可造成致命危害。

子癇前症是一種始於胎盤 (連接您和胎兒的器官) 的病症,您可在懷孕20週後,甚至嬰兒出生後患上。

胎盤為您的胎兒供應所需的血液和養份以生長和發展。如您患上子癇前症,您的胎盤將不能提供足夠的血液予胎兒,並可令您的血壓上升以及腎臟不能正常運作,蛋白質因而滲進血液中。此症也可令血液循環中的液體滲進足踝和手指,引致腫脹。子癇前症的三大主要特徵如下:

  • 高血壓
  • 蛋白尿
  • 腫脹

20名孕婦就有一名患上子癇前症,而大部分患者的病況只屬輕微。

即使您沒有患上子癇前症,懷孕期間仍有機會患上高血壓,這稱為妊娠高血壓,此情況可於懷孕20週後出現。這不代表您患有子癇前症,但隨著您的孕期增加,卻可增加患上此症的機會。

輕微的子癇前症不會引致任何症狀,一般只在恆常產檢時發現,因此定期進行產檢十分重要。進行產檢,您就可以定期量度血壓和驗尿。

當子癇前症越來越嚴重,就會出現以下症狀,包括:

  • 頭痛 通常位於前額 (服用止痛藥均不能紓緩)
  • 視力出現問題如閃光、視力模糊
  • 腹痛 通常位於右腹肋骨下
  • 感到不適
  • 感到混亂
  • 感到渾身不舒服
  • 呼吸短促
  • 手、面或腳部突然腫脹
  • 並不經常如廁

如您有上述任何症狀,請立刻聯絡您的助產士或普通科醫生,或前往鄰近醫院產科部求醫。

子癇前症具有很多不同表徵和症狀,因此難以作出診斷,而且很多時您根本沒有任何症狀。大部分女性只在產前檢查發現患病。

在您進行定期產檢時,醫護人員會為您量度血壓和驗尿。

如在您懷孕20週後,血壓上升至140/90mmHg以上,並在尿液中發現蛋白,您就會獲轉介至醫院產科部。即使您沒有出現蛋白尿但有血壓高,您的醫生或助產士仍會作出轉介。

您需要驗血以檢查肝和腎臟功能,以及凝血功能是否正常。此外,您可能需要檢驗胎盤生長因子,這是一種有助胎盤新血管生長的荷爾蒙,如因子水平較低,代表您可能患有子癇前症。您需要提供血液樣本,並且須在懷孕2034週之間抽取。至今並非所有醫院均提供此項測試。

您也可能需要進行超聲波掃描,以檢查嬰兒的生長情況;以及評估嬰兒的心跳率和活動,這稱為「心動圖」。進行檢查時,您需要安坐椅子上30分鐘,並在腹部繫上軟帶,以檢查嬰兒的心跳。

醫生並不知道子癇前症的確切成因,但這似乎與胎盤出現問題有關。子癇前症患者的胎盤不能正常發育,代表供應至胎盤的血液減少。

某些因素可增加患子癇前症的風險,如您屬以下情況,患此症的機會會增加:

  • 這是您的第一胎,或與新伴侶的第一胎
  • 與上一胎相隔10
  • 近親曾患子癇前症;如您的母親或姐妹曾患子癇前症,您患此症的機會也較高
  • 您懷有雙胞胎或多胎
  • 35歲以上
  • 您患有其他疾病如高血壓、糖尿病和腎病
  • 極度過重,即是身高體重指數(BMI)超過30

如您之前懷孕患有子癇前症,再次懷孕時患此症的機會也較高,但病況會較輕。當然您不一定會再患上此症,很多曾患子癇前症的女性在下一次懷孕時均正常和健康。您必須讓助產士和普通科醫生知道您曾患子癇前症,他們將會密切留意您的情況。請確保定時進行產前檢查,並定期量度血壓。

治療妊娠毒血症

子癇前症的治療視乎病況的嚴重性、您和嬰兒的健康狀況,以及您的懷孕週數而定。

如病況輕微,而您並沒有症狀,您可能毋須住院,只須留在家中休息。助產士和醫生會定期量度您的血壓和驗尿,您亦可能需要定期驗血。

如病況越趨嚴重,就可能需要住院,以便醫生密切監察您和嬰兒的情況。住院時,您可能需要進行以下測試:

  • 每四小時量血壓一次,或視乎病況的嚴重性須量度更頻密
  • 收集24小時尿液,以量度尿液中蛋白質的確切數量,以及每天量度蛋白尿。
  • 驗血,包括了解腎、肝和凝血功能。
  • 超聲波掃描以檢查嬰兒的健康狀況。
  • 監察未出生嬰兒的心跳率,了解其健康狀況。

嬰兒出生

雖然有時病況會先很差然後才好轉,「治療」子癇前症的唯一方法還是產下嬰兒。有時候,在您產下嬰兒後,才會首次出現子癇前症,因此嬰兒出生後,助產士仍會持續量度您的血壓。事實上病況因人而異,您何時應產下嬰兒乃視乎您和嬰兒的健康狀況,以及所餘孕期多少。您的嬰兒可能未足月便要出生,您也可能需要進行剖腹手術取出嬰兒。

您的醫生和助產士會與您商討合適的計劃,如您有任何疑問,應向他們提出。

藥物

醫生可能會處方藥物予您,如一種稱為拉貝洛爾(labetalol)beta 阻斷劑,用以降血壓。這並不能治療子癇前症,但有助預防血壓上升至危險的水平而引致嚴重的健康問題。您可服用藥丸降血壓,但如血壓很高,就可能需要滴注藥物。

如您的病況十分嚴重,醫生可能會處方藥物予您以防痙攣;其中一種就稱為硫酸鎂,可透過滴注進行治療。

如您不治療子癇前症,就很有可能發展為子癇症,約4,000名孕婦就有一名患上此症。這可在懷孕後期、生產期間及生產後出現。

子癇症可因子癇前症而引致痙攣,這與抽搐性痙攣相似。如痙攣持續時間過長,您和嬰兒可能會缺氧而危及性命。

嚴重的子癇前症可引致肝、腎和肺衰竭,以及凝血等問題,綜合這些健康問題可稱為HELLP 症候群,並且是危及性命的,而唯一的治療方法就是產下嬰兒。換言之,您的嬰兒可能會早產,而引致嬰兒的其他健康問題。

要預防或減低患上子癇前症的風險,事實上您並沒有甚麼可以做。如您屬高危人士,醫生可能建議您每天服用亞士匹靈,以助改善胎盤的血液供應。一般來說,您需要由懷孕12週起服用,直至嬰兒出生。您必須在醫生的建議下才服用。

做運動和減掉多餘的體重也有一定幫助,但請先與您的醫生商量如何安全地進行。

常見問題

我懷第一胎時曾患妊娠毒血症,以後懷孕是否更易有妊娠毒血症?

 

對,以往懷孕曾有妊娠毒血症的婦女日後懷孕再患此症的風險較高。

以往懷孕曾有妊娠毒血症的婦女日後懷孕再患此症的風險較高,但每個人的情況都不同,所以並不是說您將來懷孕一定會患妊娠毒血症。許多曾有妊娠毒血症的婦女都可正常健康地完成懷孕階段。

假如真的再出現妊娠毒血症,病況也應會比第一次輕微。確定懷孕後,必須告知助產士及醫生您以前曾患有妊娠毒血症,並依時接受產前檢查,定期量度血壓。此外,如有任何疑慮或發現任何可能是妊娠毒血症引起的徵狀,必須告知助產士或醫生。這樣的話,即使患上妊娠毒血症亦可即時治理。

 

孩子出生後會怎樣?

 

小寶寶出生後,您大概會留院數天,其間醫生會密切監察您的血壓和觀察是否有任何徵狀。分娩後68星期,您應見婦產科醫生(妊娠及分娩專科醫生),如屆時血壓依然偏高,便會轉介到專科醫生就醫。

有些婦女會在產後才出現妊娠毒血症,在這種情況下產婦須留院數天,直至康復才可出院,其後或需繼續服藥治療高血壓。

產婦住院期間醫生會密切監察,並定時量度血壓。若察覺任何徵狀,如頭痛或腹()痛,應立即通知助產士或醫生。

若分娩後六星期血壓依然偏高,又或小便仍有蛋白,醫生便會轉介到專科醫生就診。

曾患妊娠毒血症的產婦分娩後六至八星期應約見婦產科醫生進行產後檢查。您可與醫生談談病況和病發經過,以及諮詢醫生關於健康和日後再懷孕等問題。

 

妊娠毒血症對我和嬰兒的健康有長遠影響嗎?

 

大部分妊娠毒血症產婦和嬰兒都沒有長遠健康問題,但患過妊娠毒血症,日後高血壓的風險可能上升。

大部分曾患妊娠毒血症的產婦都沒有長遠健康問題。

但若曾患妊娠毒血症,日後出現高血壓的風險大於從未患過妊娠毒血症的婦女。究竟高風險是否妊娠毒血症所致,還是這些婦女未患妊娠毒血症之前早已是高血壓的高危一族,現在尚未可確定。

少數婦女患妊娠毒血症後腎臟會長期受損,但這個風險相當低。

大部分母親有妊娠毒血的嬰兒和兒童均沒有任何健康問題,但若小寶寶因為妊娠毒血症而嚴重早產,又或他/她曾缺氧,則可能導致長遠健康問題。有關詳情可諮詢助產士或醫生。

 

如我患有子癇前症,可以乘搭飛機旅遊嗎?

不可以,乘搭飛機對您和嬰兒有一定風險,請與您的醫生或助產士商量。

如您患有子癇前症,乘搭飛機時出現血栓 (深層靜脈血栓) 的風險就會增加。

在您懷孕時,您仍可以乘搭飛機旅遊而不構成危險;但到了懷孕後期,很多航空公司都不會讓您乘搭飛機。如您已懷孕超過28週,您需要取得醫生或助產士的證明信以確定懷孕一切正常。當您進入第37週,就不能乘搭飛機 (如您懷有雙胞胎則第32)。如您患有子癇前症,基於存在額外的風險,就不應乘搭飛機。此外,您亦需要留在家中,以便隨時覆診,讓醫生定期監察您的情況。

您必須慎重考慮深層靜脈血栓的風險,並在誕下嬰兒後才旅遊。如您不能延遲旅程,請與醫生商量,或先致電航空公司了解才購買機票。

更多資料

此資料由保柏集團的健康資訊顧問團隊發布,並已經合適的醫療或臨床專業人員審閱。盡該等人員所知,有關資料為近期資料,並根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫。然而,保柏(亞洲)有限公司並不就此內容是否完整或準確作出任何陳述或保證。

 

此頁內資料及本頁所提述的第三方網站內任何資料均僅供指導之用,不應依賴此內容以替代合適或專業的醫療建議,亦無意取代醫學診斷或治療。保柏(亞洲)有限公司對閣下因使用或依賴此資料所蒙受的任何損失或損害概不負責。

 

第三方網站並非由保柏擁有或控制,任何人士均有可能查閱該等網站並在該處發表訊息。保柏對該等第三方網站的內容或能否查閱該等網站概不負責。

來源

索取更多資

  • PLGF-based testing to help diagnose suspected pre-eclampsia (Triage PLGF test, Elecsys immunoassay sFlt-1/PLGF ratio, DELFIA Xpress PLGF 1-2-3 test, and BRAHMS sFlt-1 Kryptor/BRAHMS PLGF plus Kryptor PE ratio. National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), 11 May 2016. www.nice.org.uk
  • Hypertension in pregnancy: diagnosis and management. National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), 25 August 2010. www.nice.org.uk
  • Pre-eclampsia. BMJ Best Practice. bestpractice.bmj.com, last updated 6 December 2016
  • Preeclampsia. Medscape. emedicine.medscape.com, updated 15 September 2016
  • A low-lying placenta (placenta praevia) after 20 weeks. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published December 2011
  • Personal communication, Dr Evelyn Ferguson, Consultant Obstetrician Gynaecologist, and Medical Director at ABC 4D baby scan clinics, 28 December 2016
  • Pre-eclampsia. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published August 2012
  • Hypertension in pregnancy. NICE Clinical Knowledge Summaries. cks.nice.org.uk, last revised April 2015
  • Preeclampsia and high blood pressure during pregnancy. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. www.acog.org, published September 2014
  • Grivell RM, Alfirevic Z, Gyte GML, et al. Antenatal cardiotocography for fetal assessment. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2015, Issue 9. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD007863.pub4
  • Kilby MD, Bricker L. Management of monochorionic twin pregnancy. BJOG 2016; 124:e1–e45. doi: 10.1111/1471-0528.14188
  • Q&A. Action on Pre-Eclampsia. www.action-on-pre-eclampsia.org.uk, accessed 7 December 2016
  • Eclampsia. Medscape. emedicine.medscape.com, updated 7 July 2016
  • HELLP syndrome. PatientPlus. patient.info/patientplus, last checked 25 May 2016
  • Map of Medicine. Postnatal care. International view. London: Map of Medicine; 2016 (issue 4)
  • Izadi M, Alemzadeh-Ansari MJ, Kazemisaleh D, et al. Do pregnant women have a higher risk for venous thromboembolism following air travel? Adv Biomed Res 2015; 4:60. doi: 10.4103/2277-9175.151879
  • International travel and health. World Health Organization. www.who.int, accessed 12 December 2016

相關文章

乳癌

乳癌指乳房出現含有癌細胞的腫瘤。乳房腫瘤是由于細胞生長異常失控而形成的腫塊,可以是惡性(癌性)或良性(非癌性)。每10宗乳房腫瘤病例中九宗為良性。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【電話查詢優惠】

致電 2517 5860 ,查詢個人醫保計劃,隨時可享高達85折 + 賺取 HK$1.5 = 1 「亞洲萬里通」里數!*