Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Hero Tips for medical insurance

【Hero Tips for medical insurance】


Managing physical and mental health

Hero tips

Pressure at a moderate level will make you work harder and progress, but chronic stress without proper handling may cause mental illness. The deaths of local singer and South Korean actress earlier were deeply regrettable. In addition, some seemingly minor symptoms may become serious if they aren’t handled properly. For example, glaucoma may lead to blindness without proper treatment. To live a healthy life, we must start by paying attention to both physical and mental health protection.

 

Hong Kong people are under physical and mental stress, with great need for mental health support

Mental health problems in Hong Kong are very common. Among the 16- to 75-year-old population, about 1 in 7 people suffer from anxiety, depression or other mental disorders1. The 24-hour emotional support hotline of the Hong Kong Samaritan Suicide Prevention Society received 2,652 requests for “mental health problems” and 1,994 requests for “physical health problems” in 20182. Paying attention to physical and mental health is equally important. Long-term stress can have an impact on physical health, such as dizziness, headache, rapid heartbeat or difficulty breathing. It may also cause anxiety, depression and even affect memory and concentration. The mental health survey conducted last September by Bupa Hong Kong showed that 75% of the respondents concerned about their mental health, but 80% of Hong Kong people do not have enough time to de-stress. Both women (61%) and men (70%) ranked work as the top source of stress3. The General Manager of Bupa Hong Kong, Andrew Merrilees, pointed out that: " A report released by Bupa Global in July found that over 87% of senior executives in Hong Kong have experienced physical and mental health pressure during the coronavirus pandemic4. Figures from the Hospital Authority also reveal that the waiting time for stable psychiatric cases in specialist outpatient clinics in public hospitals is 117 weeks, showing that the public have significant mental health needs. However, there has been a lack of adequate coverage for mental illness in Hong Kong’s insurance market5. As a health insurance specialist, we’re committed to understanding the needs of Hong Kong people and providing comprehensive physical and mental protection."


Hero tips

 

Introduce emotional support and 24-hour hotline to relieve worries

Bupa began launching mental health support programmes in the UK, Australia and Spain a few years ago. Andrew Merrilees continued: "We expect that in the next 10 to 30 years, mental health will be another major health concern in Hong Kong beyond cancer, diabetes and heart disease. Therefore, Bupa has been actively exploring the introduction of mental health support in Hong Kong. So far, we’ve provided employee health management solutions for more than 3,000 companies of various sizes. And we’re committed to providing healthy workplace and comprehensive health management services to help employees maintain their best physical and mental health."

 

In order to address the physical and mental health needs of the public, Bupa launched the Bupa Hero VHIS Plan, which is the first VHIS plan in Hong Kong to provide extensive mental health support. The 24-hour Mental Health Service Hotline, staffed by qualified and experienced counsellors, offers emotional support and personalised counselling. If needed, face-to-face psychological counselling by clinical psychologists can be arranged. Eligible members with clinical benefits are also entitled to full cover for outpatient psychiatric treatments and psychological counselling from the mental health clinical network.

 

Comprehensive health protection with suitable optional benefits

Apart from mental health, early intervention of physical health problems is also important. For example, currently the dental clinics operated by the Hong Kong government mainly serve civil servants. Only 11 dental clinics provide the public with dental outpatient services, but these are limited to emergency services such as pain relief and tooth extraction6. Public dental services are not enough to meet the needs of the public, so many people have to seek services from voluntary organisations, private dental clinics or private hospitals. However, don’t think that the cost of dental treatment is insignificant. Taking root canals as an example, the charge for one tooth ranges from HK$6,600 to HK$25,0007. Dental expenses may be higher than expected so it’s wise to prepare in advance.

 

Also, many people are not paying enough attention to eye health. A survey published by the Hong Kong Lutheran Social Service last year showed that more than 40% of the respondents had eye discomfort, including tiny dark spots, flashes or abnormalities in the macular area. However, more than 80% of the respondents did not receive regular eye examinations8. The Hong Kong government is currently implementing a private-private partnership pilot programme, named "Cataract Surgeries Programme" to provide a fixed subsidy of HK$5,000 for cataract surgery. Therefore, patients only need to pay no more than HK$8,000 for diagnosis and treatment provided by private ophthalmologists. But the waiting time may be up to two years9. To speed up treatment and avoid added medical expenses, some insurance companies also provide optional benefits to allow their members to enjoy appropriate eye services.

 

Bupa Hero offers comprehensive protection with an annual coverage of up to HK$30 million. For common serious diseases such as cancer and heart disease, eligible medical expenses can be fully covered. In response to the different healthcare needs of the public, Bupa Hero offers 4 optional benefits, including clinical, maternity, dental and optical benefits. The dental and optical Benefits cover scaling and polishing, fillings and extractions, as well as optical expenses for consultation and one pair of glasses or contact lenses for optical correction per policy year. This provides comprehensive support for people’s various medical needs.

 

Select the suitable medical insurance products & service for a better future

It’s time to care for your health. In addition to practicing good life habits, it is important to look for a trustworthy and professional medical insurer. Andrew Merrilees said: "As a trusted healthcare partner of Hong Kong people, our Health Coaching Services are staffed by a team of qualified nurses, health management professionals and doctors, offering a variety of specialist healthcare support, including 24/7 healthline, care manager, second medical opinion service, chronic conditions programme etc. to provide professional support and health advice to reduce your worries. Our professional team is here to share various medical insurance and healthcare advice with the public. Going forward, Bupa will further enhance its medical insurance products and services and continue to strengthen its leading position in the industry. We are actively planning for personalised and flexible insurance services for the younger generation. We hope our high-quality and innovative products and services will help the public actively manage their health and live longer, healthier, happier lives."



(Original article (Traditional Chinese version only) published at: Mingpao Finance website)



1 Mental health service 2017 https://www.legco.gov.hk/research-publications/chinese/1617issh29-mental-health-services-20170626-c.pdf (Chinese only)
A Systematic Analysis for the Global Burden of Disease Study https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamaoncology/fullarticle/2752381?resultClick=1

2 SBHK annual report 2018 https://www.sbhk.org.hk/images/big/SBHK_Annual%20Report2018_Final_3.pdf

3 Bupa’s survey - 80% of Hong Kong people do not have enough time to de-stress https://www.bupa.com.hk/tc/media-centre/2019-10-10/

4 Bupa Global Research finds Hong Kong and Mainland China senior executives increasingly concerned about health issues https://www.bupa.com.hk/en/media-centre/2020-07-22/

5 Learn about medical insurance with Andrew https://www.bupa.com.hk/learn-mi-with-andrew/blog-2020-05-27/

6 List of Clinics and Health Centres https://www.dh.gov.hk/english/tele/tele_chc/tele_chc_dcgps.html

7 Schedule of Fees for private patients in The Prince Philip Dental Hospital http://ppdh.org.hk/en/schedule-of-fees/private-patients/

8 Hong Kong Lutheran Social Service, LC-HKS https://hklss.hk/en/news-center/press-release/974-primary-care-20191105 (Chinese only)

9 Cataract Surgeries Programme https://www3.ha.org.hk/ppp/csp.aspx?lang=eng

< Back

Get Details

 

 

The above summary of our insurance products is for reference only. It is not, and does not form part of, a contract of insurance and is designed to provide an overview of the key features of these products.

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Get Quote or Details】

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly at 2517 5860.

By clicking “Submit” below you give consent for the personal information submitted on this page to be used as described in paragraph 1 of Personal Data Information Collection Statement.


Need recommendations?

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

醫保Hero貼士

【醫保Hero貼士】


如何管理身心健康 免釀大病成大錯?

Hero tips

適當的壓力會令人發奮進步,但長期處於壓力狀態而未有適當紓解,就有機會累積成為情緒病,如早前相繼有本地歌手及南韓女星因受情緒困擾而選擇輕生,令人感到非常惋惜。同樣,一些看似輕微的病徵,若疏忽處理也有機會成為大病,就如青光眼有機會導致失明。要活出健康人生,必須由關注身心保障開始。

 

港人承受身心壓力 情緒健康需求大

港人的精神健康問題十分普遍,在16至75歲的人口當中,大約每7人便有1人患上焦慮症、抑鬱症或其他情緒病1。香港撒瑪利亞防止自殺會24小時情緒支援熱線於2018年更接獲2,652宗因「精神健康問題」及1,994宗因「生理健康問題」的求助個案2。可見身心健康問題會對港人造成嚴重困擾,情況令人憂慮。長期受壓力影響,有機會引致各種身體不適,如頭暈、頭痛、心跳急速或呼吸困難。亦有可能令人焦慮不安、情緒低落,甚至影響記憶力及專注力。根據保柏在去年九月進行的心理健康調查顯示,75%的受訪者表示注重自己的心理健康,惟近八成受訪者認為並未花足夠時間減壓。調查更發現70%男士及61%女士視工作為最主要的壓力來源3。保柏香港總經理梅康信(Andrew Merrilees)指出:「保柏環球在今年七月發表的研究報告亦發現,新型冠狀病毒疫症期間,超過87%的本港高級行政人員感到有明顯的身體及精神健康壓力4。精神健康需要及早關注及診治,然而,公立醫院精神科門診輪候時間可長達117個星期,可見市民對情緒健康的需求,惟本港保險市場對情緒病的保障不多5。作為醫保專家,保柏一直致力了解港人需要並致力提供全面的身心保障。」


Hero tips

 

醫療費日益昂貴 「全數賠償」可添安心

保柏在數年前開始於英國、澳洲及西班牙等地推出情緒健康支援方案。梅康信(Andrew Merrilees)續指:「我們預期香港未來10至30年內,精神健康會是除癌症、糖尿病及心臟病以外的另一大健康關注要點,因此保柏一直積極探討在香港引入情緒支援保障。至今已為逾3,000間不同規模的企業提供僱員健康管理方案,致力提供健康工作間及全面的健康管理服務,協助僱員在身心各方面保持最佳狀態。」

 

為全面照顧市民的身心需要,保柏推出全港首個全面支援情緒健康的Bupa Hero「非凡自願醫保計劃」(下稱Bupa Hero),設有24小時情緒解碼熱線,由合資格輔導人員接聽,如有需要還可安排免費由臨床心理學家提供的心理面談輔導服務。自選門診保障的合資格客戶還可利用保柏的情緒健康門診網絡獲享全數賠償的精神科治療及心理輔導服務。

 

照顧全面健康 自選醫療保障

除了精神健康需要及早重視,生理健康亦是如此。所謂「小病不治,大病難醫」,即使是小病小痛,也應病向淺中醫。例如,現時香港政府提供的牙科診所主要服務公務員,只有11間牙科診所有為市民提供牙科街症服務,並只限止痛及脫牙等緊急服務6。公營牙科服務不足應付市民需要,因此很多人都要向義務機構、私家牙科診所或私家醫院尋求服務。但是別以為牙科治療費用微不足道,以杜牙根(根管治療)為例,每顆牙齒收費由6,600至25,000元不等7,牙科的醫療開支隨時超出預期,必須預先作好準備。

 

同時,很多人亦忽略了眼睛健康。香港路德會社會服務處在去年發表調查顯示,逾四成受訪者感到眼睛不適,包括視野內出現微細黑點、閃光或黃斑區發現異常,但超過八成受訪者沒有定期驗眼的習慣8。假若不幸患上青光眼或白內障,更有可能致盲。雖然香港政府現正推行公私營協作的「耀眼行動」,為白內障病提供5,000元定額資助,病人只需支付不多於8,000元費用,就可接受私家眼科醫生提供的診治服務,但輪候時間長達兩年9。若要加快治療,免卻醫療費的煩惱,有保險公司也提供自選計劃,讓市民享用適切的眼科服務。

 

Bupa Hero保障全面,計劃提供每年高達港幣3,000萬元的保障額,對於癌症及心臟病等常見的嚴重疾病,合資格的醫療開支項目均可獲全數賠償。因應市民不同的健康管理需要,Bupa Hero更特設4種自選保障,包括門診、產科、牙科及視力保障。當中的牙科及視力保障涵蓋洗牙、補牙、脫牙、視力相關的診症費及矯視眼鏡。為市民的醫療需要提供更全面支援。

 

揀選合適的保險產品及服務 迎來健康明天

關注個人健康刻不容緩,除了要實行良好的生活習慣,尋找值得信賴的專業醫療保險品牌也同樣重要。梅康信(Andrew Merrilees)表示:「作為香港人的醫療健康夥伴,我們由醫生、合資格護士和健康管理人士組成的專業團隊透過為客戶提供我們的健康支援服務,包括24小時健康專線、個人健康顧問、第二醫療意見服務、慢性疾病管理計劃等,給予專業支援及健康建議。我們的專業團隊亦不時與公衆分享各種醫療保險和健康資訊。保柏未來會進一步加強醫療保險產品及服務,繼續鞏固於業界的領先地位。我們正積極籌劃為年輕一代而設的個人化及彈性的保險服務,希望透過應用程式及更多優質創新的產品及服務,幫助大眾積極管理健康,活出更長壽、更健康和更愉快的人生。」



(原文載於:明報財經網站)



1 立法會秘書處資料研究組 – 衞生:https://www.legco.gov.hk/research-publications/chinese/1617issh29-mental-health-services-20170626-c.pdf

2 香港撒瑪利亞防止自殺會 – 2018年年報 P.19:https://www.sbhk.org.hk/images/big/SBHK_Annual Report2018_Final_3.pdf

3 保柏心理健康調查於2019年9月在本港以網上問卷形式進行,合共訪問逾700名人士:https://www.bupa.com.hk/tc/media-centre/2019-10-10

4 保柏環球調查於2020年5至7月訪問 500 名香港各行各業的高級行政人員:https://www.bupa.com.hk/tc/media-centre/2020-07-22

5 保柏細說醫保 – 精神健康納入自願醫保 撐着你度過高山低谷:https://www.bupa.com.hk/learn-mi-with-andrew/blog-2020-05-27/

6 衛生署 – 牙科街症服務診所:https://www.dh.gov.hk/tc_chi/tele/tele_chc/tele_chc_dcgps.html

7 菲臘牙科醫院 – 私家病人收費表:http://ppdh.org.hk/zh-hant/download-form/schedule-of-fees-for-private-patients-treatment-fees-excluding-charges-for-dental-appliances/

8 香港路德會社會服務處:https://hklss.hk/en/news-center/press-release/974-primary-care-20191105

9 醫院管理局 – 耀眼行動:https://www3.ha.org.hk/ppp/csp.aspx#patient

< 返回

查詢詳情

 

 

以上乃計劃的資料摘要,僅供參考,旨在提供計劃的主要特色概覽,並非亦不構成合約的一部分。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多自願醫保及其他醫保計劃詳情。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【索取報價及詳情】

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可致電2517 5860聯絡我們。

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。


需要產品建議?