Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Critical illness insurance covers high cancer treatment costs during your unpaid leave

[Can't pay for the latest medicines?] Critical illness insurance covers high cancer treatment costs during your unpaid leave

Critical illness insurance covers high cancer treatment costs during your unpaid leave

Cancer has become increasingly common, with an average of 93 people diagnosed with cancer every day in Hong Kong (see Remark 1). The chance of getting cancer before the age of 75 is about 25% for men and 20% for women (see Remark 2). The number of cancer patients is on the rise and there's been a shift towards cancer diagnosis at younger ages. Take colorectal cancer – the most common cancer in Hong Kong – as an example. Research shows that the incidence of colorectal cancer in people younger than 55 has continued to increase over the past 20 years (see Remark 3). However, with medical advancements and the introduction of newer drugs, cancer is curable if you're diagnosed and treated early. As cancer treatment costs continue to rise, especially for targeted therapy drugs, you may want to consider planning ahead for a rainy day, in case you have to take time off work during treatment.



High cancer treatment costs during time off work; Continuous treatment ensures more effective control of cancer

According to a survey, 19% of cancer patients interviewed said they weren't able to receive the best treatment because they couldn't afford it (see Remark 4). Take targeted therapy drugs as an example. While they have milder side effects compared to chemotherapy and are very effective for certain cancers, these drugs are expensive. Currently, most targeted therapy drugs listed on the Hospital Authority Drug Formulary are self-financed, making them less accessible to most people. Taking colorectal cancer as an example, the median cost of self-financed drugs for late-stage cancer treatment in public hospitals was HK$266,677. For private hospitals, overall treatment costs can go up to HK$1,293,000 (see Remark 4).


The introduction of advanced cancer treatments has brought new hope to cancer patients. In addition to targeted therapy, some patients are now also treated with immunotherapy. Clinical data shows that the five-year survival rate of people with advanced lung cancer who received immunotherapy is nearly twice that of those receiving chemotherapy (see Remark 5). However, immunotherapy drugs are expensive with treatment lasting up to two years. There are more and more cases where cancer can be controlled through continuous treatment such as targeted therapy and immunotherapy.


In addition to feeling exhausted both physically and mentally, cancer patients may also have financial worries during treatment. It's best to get prepared, such as by purchasing critical illness insurance, as soon as possible. Then, in the unfortunate event that you're diagnosed with cancer, you can still afford better treatments or cover your daily expenses with compensation from critical illness insurance.



Invest in critical illness insurance to stay protected from cancer recurrence

Although cancer isn't necessarily incurable, treatments can cause significant physical and mental distress. Cancer recurrence or new cancer in another location isn't uncommon among cancer survivors. The recurrence rate of stage 1 lung cancer is more than 30% (see Remark 6). Most term critical illness insurance products on the market only cover a single cancer, with few covering a second cancer. The latter provides an extra safety net for the insured.


With these concerns in mind, Bupa has launched Bupa Safe Critical Illness Insurance Scheme for better protection. This scheme covers three major critical illnesses – cancer, heart disease and stroke, as well as carcinoma-in-situ and early stage cancer. It can be upgraded with the optional Extended Major Critical Illness Benefit, which covers a total of 85 conditions for 98% coverage of all serious critical illnesses (see Remark 7). In addition, the scheme offers additional cancer protection. You're covered for a second cancer claim only one year after your Major Critical Illness Benefit has been paid, as opposed to a five-year waiting period in some similar products on the market. With a lifetime benefit amount up to HK$3,300,000 in aggregate (see Remark 8), once you've enrolled, renewal is guaranteed up to 100 years old (see Remark 9).


For example, Jeremy, an accountant, enrolled in Bupa Safe Critical Illness Insurance Scheme – Plan A3 (with HK$1,500,000 Major Critical Illness Benefit) and the optional Extended Major Critical Illness Benefit that covers a total of 85 critical illnesses. Jeremy had angioplasty when he was 40 and received a lump sum payment of HK$300,000. He was diagnosed with lung cancer at age 45, and the cancer recurred when he was 48. Both times Jeremy received a lump sum payment of HK$1,500,000, adding up to three payments of HK$3,300,000 in total. Although he was on unpaid leave due to his illness, he was still able to afford mortgage payments and his daughter's international school fees.



Optional Cancer Treatment Reimbursement Benefit

The fight against cancer is long and expensive, but with Bupa Safe Critical Illness Insurance Scheme's optional Cancer Treatment Reimbursement Benefit, all expenses incurred for eligible cancer and carcinoma-in-situ treatments are covered on a reimbursement basis. This benefit covers non-surgical cancer treatment up to HK$1 million per contract year (see Remark 10). This limit will be restored each year, which is especially beneficial for lengthy cancer treatment that spans several years. What's more, you can convert the optional Cancer Treatment Reimbursement Benefit to Bupa MyBasic VHIS Plan / Bupa MyFlexi VHIS Plan after five years for even more comprehensive protection, with no need for underwriting.



Enrol online in the comfort of your own home

Bupa Safe Critical Illness Insurance Scheme offers pure critical illness coverage at a great value without savings elements. With monthly subscriptions as low as HK$108 (see Remark 11), it's now open for online enrolment, so you can stay protected from the comfort of your own home. Get a quote and for more details!



Remarks
1 Overview of Hong Kong Cancer Statistics of 2018 issued by the Hospital Authority: https://www3.ha.org.hk/cancereg/pdf/overview/Overview%20of%20HK%20Cancer%20Stat%202018.pdf

2 2018 data from the website of Cancer Online Resource Hub: https://www.cancer.gov.hk/en/hong_kong_cancer/overview_of_cancer_statistics_in_hong_kong.html

3 CUHK Study Sees Increasing Global Incidence of Colorectal Cancer Among Younger People, The Chinese University of Hong Kong: https://www.cpr.cuhk.edu.hk/en/press/cuhk-study-sees-increasing-global-incidence-of-colorectal-cancer-among-younger-people/

4 Cancer Information website (Chinese only): https://cancerinformation.com.hk/web/2018/07/18/誤以為政府醫癌少使費-港人低估公院腸癌藥費19倍/

5 New data on immunotherapy for lung cancer (Chinese only), Hong Kong Economic Journal website: https://health.hkej.com/health/article?suid=2600462&subjectline=肺癌免疫治療的新數據

6 Multiple treatments for brain metastasis from lung cancer to ensure the quality of life (Chinese only), Ming Pao website: https://health.mingpao.com/肺癌腦轉移-多方位治療-保生活質素/?nowprocket=1

7 The 85 critical illnesses covered under the critical illness basic benefits and optional Extended Major Critical Illness Benefit of Bupa Safe Critical Illness Insurance Scheme include 98% of designated critical illnesses in 10Life's Scoring Methodology of Term Critical Illness Insurance. Exclusions and waiting periods apply. Please refer to the contract for the terms and excluded conditions.

8 Based on Plan A3 with lifetime benefit amount of HK$3,300,000 in aggregate, including HK$1,500,000 for Major Critical Illness Benefit, HK$1,500,000 for Additional Cancer Benefit and HK$300,000 for Early Stage Critical Illness Benefit. Customers need to be diagnosed with covered critical illnesses after the applicable waiting periods as specified in the contract to be eligible to claim these benefits. Please refer to the contract for details.

9 Additional Cancer Benefit will end on the contract anniversary date immediately following the age of 85. Age limits apply to coverage for certain illnesses under optional Extended Major Critical Illness Benefit. Please refer to the Schedule of Critical Illness Benefits for details.

10  Full cover for hospital and surgical expenses for eligible cancer and carcinoma-in-situ is HK$500,000 (option C1) or HK$1,000,000 (option C2) per contract year.

11  Based on an 18-year-old non-smoker enrolling in the critical illness basic benefit with lifetime benefit amount in aggregate of HK$3,300,000 using annual payment mode. This figure does not include any promotional offers or discounts which may be available.
 

< Back

Get Details

 

 

The above summary of our insurance products is for reference only. It is not, and does not form part of, a contract of insurance and is designed to provide an overview of the key features of these products.

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Get Quote or Details】

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly at 2517 5860.

The registration service is temporarily unavailable due to system maintenance. Please leave your contact details below and we will contact you once registration service is resumed.

Member get member

Rewards for referrers

Get HK$500 in supermarket coupons for every successful referral you make!

There's no limit on the referrals you can make. The more you refer, the higher the rewards!

Exclusive offer for referrers

If your family and friends successfully enrol in Bupa individual medical scheme, your family and friends can enjoy the following rewards:

  • 【Limited-time offer】 Bupa HERO VHIS Plan - 30% off for single enrolment and up to 70% off for 3 or more enrolments^
  • 【New】 Bupa SAFE Critical Illness Insurance Scheme - 20% off for single enrolment, 40% off for 2 or more enrolments#
  • Other selected individual medical schemes: up to 30% off

The promotion is valid until 31 December 2021. Act now!


Terms and conditions apply (PDF, 301KB)
I have read and accepted the Personal Data Information Collection Statement .
By clicking "Submit", I confirm that I give consent to Bupa using my personal data for direct marketing of its related insurance products and services.

Need recommendations?

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

醫癌費用高 隨時停工零收入 危疾保險幫您分擔

【有藥冇錢醫?】醫癌費用高 隨時停工零收入 危疾保險幫您分擔

醫癌費用高 隨時停工零收入  危疾保險幫您分擔

 

癌症發病日趨普遍,香港平均每日有 93 人確診癌症(見備註1)。於75歲前罹患癌症的機率,男性約為25%,女性約為20%(見備註2)。患癌數字更有上升和年輕化趨勢,以本港頭號癌症大腸癌為例,研究顯示,香港55歲以下結腸癌及直腸癌患者廿年間不斷上升(見備註3)。不過,隨着醫學進步、先進藥物推陳出新,患者若及早得到診斷和治療,癌症也非不治之症。惟癌症醫療費用不斷攀升,標靶藥更所費不菲,治療期間又未必可如常工作,大家又會否未雨綢繆,為健康作好準備?

 

停工醫癌費用高 持續治療有效控制癌症

調查發現,19%受訪癌症患者表示,因未能負擔所需的醫療開支,而無法接受最理想的治療(見備註4)。以標靶藥為例,其副作用較化療輕,對部分癌症治療十分有效,不過索價高昂,而在醫院管理局的藥物名冊中,目前大部份標靶藥均需自費,並非一般市民輕易負擔得起。以大腸癌為例,於公營醫院治療晚期癌症的自費藥物費用為$266,677(中位數),而於私營體系整體治療費用更高達$1,293,000(見備註4)。

抗癌方法日新月異,令癌症病人重燃希望。除了標靶治療外,現在部分患者會接受免疫治療。臨床數據顯示,接受免疫治療的晚期肺癌病人,其5年存活率,較接受化療的病人高出近2倍(見備註5)。然而,免疫治療藥物費亦十分高昂,療程可達兩年。現時已陸續有癌症個案,患者透過標靶治療、免疫治療等持續治療控制癌症。
於治療期間,癌症患者身心俱疲,未必能如常工作,甚至耗盡積蓄,故此大家應防患於未然,考慮及早投保危疾保險,以備不時之需,縱使他日不幸患癌,也可選擇較理想的治療,或以危疾保險的賠償,應付日常開支。

 

癌症可重臨 精明選擇危疾保險守護健康

癌症雖未必是不治之症,但治療癌症令病人身心交瘁,即使戰勝癌魔,癌症亦有可能復發,或者在另一個器官出現新癌症。數據指出,第1期肺癌的復發率逾三成(見備註6)。市面上的定期危疾保險多數只涵蓋單次癌症,僅少數產品容許第2次癌症索償,後者能為受保人提供額外安全網。

保柏明白您的憂慮,特意推出Bupa Safe危疾全禦保計劃,守護您的健康。Bupa Safe計劃保障癌症、心臟病、中風三大嚴重危疾,更涵蓋原位癌及早期癌症。您還可以按個人需要,自選「嚴重危疾延伸保障」,使受保危疾增至共85種,涵蓋98%危疾種類(見備註7)。另外,Bupa Safe計劃提供額外癌症保障,即使受保人已作出首次嚴重危疾索償,仍可再次索償癌症,兩次索償之間的等候期僅1年,遠遠短於市面某些同類型產品的5年等候期。Bupa Safe計劃終生賠償總額可達$3,300,000(見備註8),一經投保,保證續保至100歲(見備註9)。

舉例,會計師Jeremy投保了Bupa Safe危疾全禦保計劃A3(嚴重危疾保障$1,500,000),並選擇自選「嚴重危疾延伸保障」將受保危疾增至共85種。Jeremy於40歲時,因接受通波仔手術而得到一筆過賠償$300,000,其後於45歲及48歲先後因肺癌及其復發,而分別得到兩次$1,500,000的賠償。三次賠償總額達$3,300,000。即使他因病而停薪留職,仍足以應付供樓及女兒國際學校學費。

 

 

自選癌症治療賠償保障

要與癌症長期抗爭,治療可能漫長且昂貴,Bupa Safe計劃受保人更可自選癌症治療賠償保障,以實報實銷形式全數賠償合資格癌症、原位癌的治療費用,當中更包括非手術癌症治療,保額高達每個合約年度$1,000,000(見備註10),可於每個合約年度重新計算,讓受保人無懼橫跨數年的癌症治療。投保5年後,投保人可將癌症治療賠償保障轉保至保柏自願醫保計劃 / 保柏靈活配自願醫保計劃-基本,無須重新核保 ,得到更全面的醫療保障。

 

網上投保  喺屋企都買到

Bupa Safe危疾全禦保計劃不設儲蓄成份,純危疾保障,性價比高,每月保費低至$108(見備註11),而且接受網上投保,讓您足不出戶都可以隨時隨地獲得保障,立即按此索取報價及了解詳情﹗



1 數據來自香港醫管局《2018 年香港癌症統計概覽》:https://www3.ha.org.hk/cancereg/pdf/overview/Overview%20of%20HK%20Cancer%20Stat%202018_tc.pdf

2 2018年數字,數據來自癌症網上資源中心網頁:https://www.cancer.gov.hk/tc/hong_kong_cancer/overview_of_cancer_statistics_in_hong_kong.html

3 資料來自香港中文大學新聞稿〈香港及美國55歲以下結腸癌患者廿年間不斷上升〉:https://www.cpr.cuhk.edu.hk/tc/press/cuhk-study-sees-increasing-global-incidence-of-colorectal-cancer-among-younger-people/

4 數據來自癌症資訊網新聞稿〈本港癌症治療政府欠規劃  調查:誤以為政府醫癌少使費  港人低估公院腸癌藥費19倍〉:https://cancerinformation.com.hk/web/2018/07/18/誤以為政府醫癌少使費-港人低估公院腸癌藥費19倍/

5 數據來自《信報》網站文章〈肺癌免疫治療的新數據〉:https://health.hkej.com/health/article?suid=2600462&subjectline=肺癌免疫治療的新數據

6 數據來自《明報》網站文章〈肺癌腦轉移 多方位治療 保生活質素〉:https://health.mingpao.com/肺癌腦轉移-多方位治療-保生活質素/?nowprocket=1

7 Bupa Safe危疾全禦保計劃的危疾基本保障及自選「嚴重危疾延伸保障」下受保的85 種危疾已涵蓋10Life定期危疾保險評分方法下的98%指定危疾。設不受保障項目及等候期,有關條款及不受保障項目,請參閱合約。

8 以終生賠償總額為$3,300,000的A3計劃計算,包括嚴重危疾保障$1,500,000,額外癌症保障$1,500,000,以及早期危疾保障$300,000。客戶需確診符合合約定義的受保危疾,並於等候期後才可索償,詳見合約條款。

9 額外癌症保障將於緊接85歲後的合約週年日自動結束。自選嚴重危疾延伸保障下的部份疾病設有保障年齡限制,詳情請參閱保障金額表。

10 全數賠償合資格癌症、原位癌的治療費用,保額為每合約年度$500,000(選項 C1)或$1,000,000(選項 C2)。

11 以18歲非吸煙者以年繳購買終生賠償總額為$3,300,000的A3計劃計算。此保費尚未計算任何適用的折扣或優惠。


< 返回

查詢詳情

 

 

以上乃計劃的資料摘要,僅供參考,旨在提供計劃的主要特色概覽,並非亦不構成合約的一部分。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多自願醫保及其他醫保計劃詳情。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【索取報價及詳情】

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可致電2517 5860聯絡我們。

由於進行系統維護工程,本登記服務暫停運作。

Member get member

推薦人獎賞

每成功推薦送您HK$500 超市禮券

推薦人數不設上限,推薦愈多,獎賞愈多!

被推薦人投保優惠

如被推薦人成功投保保柏個人醫療保障計劃,被推薦人可獲以下首年投保優惠:

  • 【限時震撼優惠】 Bupa HERO 非凡自願醫保個人投保7折,三人同行3折^
  • 【全新】Bupa SAFE 危疾全禦保:一人投保8折,二人或以上6折#
  • 其他指定個人醫保計劃:高達7折

優惠期至2021年12月31日。立即行動!


受條款及細則約束 (PDF, 301KB)
本人已閱讀並明白個人資料收集聲明
按「傳送」即代表本人同意保柏使用本人之個人資料向本人提供有關保險產品及服務相關的市場推廣資訊。

需要產品建議?