Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Is critical illness insurance necessary when you're already covered by medical insurance?

Confused about medical and critical illness insurance? Is critical illness insurance necessary when you're already covered by medical insurance?

Compare VHIS

Many people are unsure about the differences between medical insurance and critical illness insurance. While they both provide protection for the insured, the two actually serve different purposes. Medical insurance covers expenses such as hospitalisation that are considered medically necessary. It's not limited in the types of illnesses or diseases it covers, and your expenses are reimbursed as incurred. In other words, medical insurance covers medical treatment only. Meanwhile, critical illness insurance covers illnesses specified in the policy, and provides the insured with a one-off lump sum cash payment. This payment can be used to pay for medical treatment as well as daily necessities, making up for lost income if you're not able to work. So, even if you're covered by medical insurance, it's also good to have critical illness cover to enhance your medical safety net.

 

 

There are two main types of critical illness insurance on the market: lifelong critical illness insurance and term critical illness insurance. Lifelong critical illness insurance, which is usually purchased through an agent, offers protection throughout your lifetime. However, it has a relatively more complex product structure with a savings element and higher premiums. Meanwhile, term critical illness insurance has a relatively simpler product structure, and offers protection without a savings element. The policy is usually renewed at regular intervals (e.g. every year, every 5 years or 10 years, etc). Some term critical illness insurance products can also be purchased online. This is a more affordable option for the general public, especially younger customers. This article will focus on term critical illness insurance.

 

 

Three major critical illnesses – Beware of insurance loopholes

 According to statistics from the Department of Health, 36.6% of deaths in Hong Kong in 2019 (see Remark 1) were caused by malignant tumours, heart diseases and cerebrovascular diseases. So it's especially important that your critical illness policy covers cancers, heart diseases and stroke, which account for more than 90% of critical illness insurance claims. While the premiums for term critical illness insurance are relatively low, the protection offered by many policies on the market isn't comprehensive enough as they cover only the three critical illnesses mentioned above. Here are some of the common loopholes in critical illness policies. To better protect yourself, you should read the policy carefully before subscribing to any insurance product.

  • Only the first cancer is covered. No protection for second cancer, continuation, recurrences and new cancers.
  • Only severe cancers are covered. No protection for early stage cancer and carcinoma-in-situ.
  • Only severe heart diseases are covered. No protection for early-stage heart diseases such as the common coronary heart disease which requires angioplasty.
  • Carotid artery disease that requires surgery isn't covered.
  • Endovascular treatment for cerebral aneurysm isn't covered.
 

 

Bupa Safe Critical Illness Insurance Scheme offers comprehensive and flexible protection

With that in mind, Bupa has launched Bupa Safe Critical Illness Insurance Scheme which offers comprehensive protection against critical illnesses at affordable rates. For greater flexibility, the Base Plan A can be upgraded according to your needs with optional benefits B and C:

  • Base Plan A: Covers three major critical illnesses – cancer, heart disease and stroke, as well as Additional Cancer Benefit to cover a second cancer. With a lifetime benefit amount up to HK$3,300,000 in aggregate (see Remark 2) and monthly premiums as low as HK$108 (see Remark 3), the scheme also covers five early stage critical illnesses, such as carcinoma-in-situ, coronary artery disease requiring angioplasty, carotid artery disease requiring surgery and endovascular treatment for cerebral aneurysm. Once you've enrolled, renewal is guaranteed up to 100 years old (see Remark 4).
  • Benefit B (optional): Enhances the safety net against critical illnesses by offering coverage for an additional 77 major critical illnesses. With this, the plan covers a total of 85 conditions for 98% coverage of all serious critical illnesses (see Remark 5).
  • Benefit C (optional): Covers cancer treatments with expenses reimbursed as incurred, allowing you to focus on recovery.
 

 

Optional Cancer Treatment Reimbursement Benefit to cope with expensive cancer treatments

When it comes to critical illnesses, people are concerned about cancer the most because of its high treatment costs. According to a survey (see Remark 6), the median cost of self-financed drugs for late-stage cancer treatment in public hospitals was HK$266,677. The number is even higher for private hospitals. For that reason, Bupa Safe Critical Illness Insurance Scheme offers the optional benefit C that covers cancer treatment. All expenses incurred for cancer and carcinoma-in-situ treatment will be covered on a reimbursement basis. It also covers hospitalisation, surgery, non-surgical cancer treatment and diagnostic tests up to HK$1 million per contract year (see Remark 7). This limit will be restored each contract year, which is especially beneficial for those undergoing lengthy cancer treatment that spans several years. In addition, this optional benefit offers extra benefits for out-patient care and monitoring, extended care and so on, and an experimental treatment cash allowance for enhanced protection with the latest technology. What's more, you can convert the optional Cancer Treatment Reimbursement Benefit to Bupa MyBasic VHIS / Bupa MyFlexi VHIS (Standard) after five years, with no need for underwriting.


 

The insurance market has long been dominated by intermediaries, so people may not be familiar with high-quality, affordable term critical illness insurance products. The new Bupa Safe Critical Illness Insurance Scheme, which is now available online, offers enhanced protection and greater flexibility. It's a great option especially for budget-savvy consumers. Click here for a quote and more details.



Remarks
1 For details, please refer to "Death Rates by Leading Causes of Death, 2001 – 2019" on the website of the Centre for Health Protection, Department of Health.

2 Based on Plan A3 with lifetime benefit amount of HK$3,300,000 in aggregate, including HK$1,500,000 for Major Critical Illness Benefit, HK$1,500,000 for Additional Cancer Benefit and HK$300,000 for Early Stage Critical Illness Benefit. Customers need to be diagnosed with covered critical illnesses after the applicable waiting periods as specified in the contract to be eligible to claim these benefits. Please refer to the contract for details.

3 Based on an 18-year-old non-smoker enrolling in the critical illness basic benefit with lifetime benefit amount in aggregate of HK$3,300,000 using annual payment mode. This figure does not include any promotional offers or discounts which may be available.

4 Additional Cancer Benefit will end on the contract anniversary date immediately following the age of 85. Age limits apply to coverage for certain illnesses under optional Extended Major Critical Illness Benefit. Please refer to the Schedule of Critical Illness Benefits for details.
 
5 The 85 critical illnesses covered under the critical illness basic benefits and optional Extended Major Critical Illness Benefit of this plan include 98% of designated critical illnesses in 10Life's Scoring Methodology of Term Critical Illness Insurance. Exclusions and waiting periods apply. Please refer to the contract for the terms and excluded conditions.
 
6 For details, please refer to a survey conducted in July 2018 (Chinese only) on the website of Cancer Information.

7 Full cover for hospital and surgical expenses for cancer and carcinoma-in-situ is HK$500,000 (option C1) or HK$1,000,000 (option C2) per contract year.
 

< Back

Get Details

 

 

The above summary of our insurance products is for reference only. It is not, and does not form part of, a contract of insurance and is designed to provide an overview of the key features of these products.

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Get Quote or Details】

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly at 2517 5860.

The registration service is temporarily unavailable due to system maintenance. Please leave your contact details below and we will contact you once registration service is resumed.

Member get member

Rewards for referrers

Get HK$500 in supermarket coupons for every successful referral you make!

There's no limit on the referrals you can make. The more you refer, the higher the rewards!

Exclusive offer for referrers

If your family and friends successfully enrol in Bupa individual medical scheme, your family and friends can enjoy the following rewards:

  • 【Limited-time offer】 Bupa HERO VHIS Plan - 30% off for single enrolment and up to 70% off for 3 or more enrolments^
  • 【New】 Bupa SAFE Critical Illness Insurance Scheme - 20% off for single enrolment, 40% off for 2 or more enrolments#
  • Other selected individual medical schemes: up to 30% off

The promotion is valid until 31 December 2021. Act now!


Terms and conditions apply (PDF, 301KB)
I have read and accepted the Personal Data Information Collection Statement .
By clicking "Submit", I confirm that I give consent to Bupa using my personal data for direct marketing of its related insurance products and services.

Need recommendations?

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

醫療VS危疾,傻傻分不清?已有醫療保險,點解仲要危疾保險?

醫療VS危疾,傻傻分不清?已有醫療保險,點解仲要危疾保險?

醫療VS危疾,傻傻分不清?已有醫療保險,點解仲要危疾保險?

 

不少消費者都分不清醫療保險與危疾保險,其實,雖然兩者都保障健康,但卻有不同功能。醫療保險主要是住院保障,賠償符合醫療需要的住院費用,不限於大小疾病種類,並以實報實銷形式賠償,所以此賠償只用於醫病。而危疾保險主要保障危疾,若受保人符合保單定義的指定疾病,便可得到一筆過現金賠償,而該賠償並不限於醫病,受保人可用它來應付生活所需,彌補因未能工作而損失的收入。所以,即使已有醫保,同時投保危疾保障,可提升健康的安全網。
危疾保險主要分為終身危疾及定期危疾兩種。終身危疾保險提供終身危疾保障,產品結構相對複雜,含儲蓄成份,保費較高,多數要經中介人購買。至於定期危疾保險,結構相對簡單,純保障,沒有儲蓄成份,通常定期(每年、每5年或10年等)續保,部份產品更可以網上投保,對於普羅大眾,尤其是年輕人,可以低廉的保費得到危疾保障。本文將集中介紹定期危疾保險。

 

 

三大重點危疾 留心保障漏洞

衞生署數據顯示,2019年香港有36.6%的死因(見備註1)是由惡性腫瘤、心臟病和腦血管病所導致。所以,危疾保障中,癌症、心臟病及中風三大危病十分重要,它們亦佔超過九成危疾保險索償。定期危疾保險雖然保費較低,但市面上不少定期危疾保險只側重上述三大危疾,保障不夠全面,以下是常見的保障漏洞,客戶投保前要了解保單內容,避免將來索償無門!

  • 只保單次癌症,不賠第2次癌症,對於持續、復發及新癌症欠缺保障
  • 只保嚴重癌症,不賠早期癌症及原位癌
  • 只保嚴重心臟病,不賠早期心臟疾病,如冠狀動脈疾病(又稱冠心病),需「通波仔」,此情況十分常見
  • 不賠須作手術之頸動脈疾病
  • 不賠大腦動脈瘤的血管介入治療

 

保障全面  靈活配搭:Bupa Safe危疾全禦保計劃 

就此,保柏補漏拾遺,推出Bupa Safe危疾全禦保計劃,為您提供全面及保費低廉的危疾保障,而且產品設計靈活彈性,除了必選的基本計劃A,更設自選保障B及C,客戶可根據個人需要,將保障升級:

  • 基本計劃A(必選):保障範圍包括癌症、心臟病、中風三大嚴重危疾,而針對癌症,更提供額外癌症保障,連第2次癌症也可索償。同時,計劃涵蓋原位癌、通波仔、須作手術之頸動脈疾病、大腦動脈瘤的血管介入治療等五項早期危疾。終身賠償總額可達$330萬(見備註2),每月保費低至$108(見備註3),一經投保,客戶可保證續保至100歲(見備註4)。
  • 保障B(自選):提升危疾保障的安全網,額外保障多77種受保嚴重危疾,使總受保危疾提升至共85種,涵蓋98%危疾種類(見備註5)。
  • 保障C(自選):以實報實銷形式,提供癌症治療賠償保障,使受保人可以專心醫病,早日康復。

  

自選癌症治療賠償保障  無懼癌症治療高昂開支

說到危疾,癌症最受關注,因其治療費用昂貴,較早前一項調查發現(見備註6),於政府醫院治療晚期癌症的自費藥物費用為$266,677(中位數) ,而於私營體系治療費用則更高。就此,Bupa Safe危疾全禦保計劃設有自選的保障C,提供癌症治療賠償保障﹕以實報實銷形式全數賠償癌症、原位癌的治療費用,覆蓋癌症之住院、外科手術、非手術癌症治療及診斷檢測,保額高達每合約年度$100萬(見備註7)。此保額更會於每個合約年度重新計算,對於漫長、橫跨數年的癌症治療,此一好處尤其明顯。另外更設額外門診護理及監測、延伸支援等保障,以及實驗性治療現金津貼,進一步提升客戶保障。此外,受保於「癌症治療賠償保障」5年後,投保人可將此自選保障轉保至保柏自願醫保計劃∕保柏靈活配自願醫保計劃-基本,無須重新核保 。
一直以來,在中介主導的保險市場,價廉物美的定期危疾保險成為滄海遺珠。新一代的Bupa Safe危疾全禦保計劃提升保障,提供產品的彈性讓大家自由選擇,並且接受網上投保,值得精打細算的消費者留意,立即按此索取報價及詳情﹗

 


1 詳見衞生署衞生防護中心二零零一年至二零一九年主要死因的死亡率網頁。

2 以終生賠償總額為$330萬的A3計劃計算,包括嚴重危疾保障$150萬,額外癌症保障$150萬,以及早期危疾保障$30萬。客戶需確診符合保單定義的受保危疾,並於等候期後才可索償,詳見合約條款。

3 以一名18 歲非吸煙人士以年繳模式投保終生賠償總額為$330萬的保柏危疾全禦保計劃的危疾基本保障計算。此保費尚未計算任何適用的折扣或優惠。

4 額外癌症保障將於緊接85歲後的合約週年日自動結束。自選嚴重危疾延伸保障下的部份疾病設有保障年齡限制,詳情請參閱保障表。

5 本計劃危疾基本保障及自選「嚴重危疾延伸保障」下受保的85種危疾已涵蓋10Life定期危疾保險評分方法下的98%指定危疾。設不受保障項目及等候期,有關條款及不受保障項目,請參閱合約。

6 詳見「癌症資訊網」2018年7月調查。

7 「全數賠償」癌症、原位癌的住院及手術費用,保額為每合約年度$50萬(選項 C1)或$100萬(選項 C2)。



< 返回

查詢詳情

 

 

以上乃計劃的資料摘要,僅供參考,旨在提供計劃的主要特色概覽,並非亦不構成合約的一部分。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多自願醫保及其他醫保計劃詳情。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【索取報價及詳情】

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可致電2517 5860聯絡我們。

本人已閱讀並明白個人資料收集聲明
按「傳送」即代表本人同意保柏使用本人之個人資料向本人提供有關保險產品及服務相關的市場推廣資訊。

需要產品建議?