Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Do I need individual medical insurance when I'm already covered by group medical insurance?

Do I need individual medical insurance when I'm already covered by group medical insurance?

Hero tips

Many employees wonder if they still need individual medical insurance as their employer has already provided group medical insurance. In particular, younger employees are usually relatively healthy with only occasional ailments such as the common cold and flu. They often focus on out-patient insurance and think that the coverage provided by their employer is sufficient. They usually have a skimping mentality when it comes to in-patient insurance. However, individual medical insurance actually offers more extensive coverage compared to group medical insurance. The two can be complementary and offer more comprehensive coverage together.

 

Group medical insurance offers both out- and in-patient coverage, while individual medical insurance provides further protection

Group medical insurance provides a basic safety net that offers both out-patient and in-patient protection. According to statistics from the Hong Kong Federation of Insurers in 2018, the average claim for standard hospital ward under a group medical insurance policy is HK$41,802 with the reimbursement rate at about 75% (see Remark 1). In other words, patients will need to pay the remaining 25% of the medical expenses out of their own pockets. Since these are just average figures, the reimbursement rate may be even lower for in-patient cases with higher expenses such as cancer treatments and angioplasty.

It's also worth noting that when employees change jobs or become unemployed, there will be a coverage gap as they're no longer protected by group medical insurance. What's more, you can't guarantee that your next employer will provide group medical insurance. To plan ahead, you should purchase individual medical insurance when you're still healthy for better protection. Even if you're already covered by group medical insurance, an individual medical plan can enhance your protection by maximising your coverage.

 

Lower individual medical insurance premiums with deductibles

There are two types of individual medical insurance plans on the market: those without deductibles and those with deductibles. A deductible is the amount you pay out of pocket before your insurance will cover the remaining eligible amount up to the benefit limit set out in the policy.

So, what are the benefits of medical insurance with a deductible? Simply put, customers can lower their premiums by choosing an individual medical plan with deductibles. Generally speaking, the higher the deductible, the lower the premium. If you're already covered by your company's group medical insurance, then you can offset your deductible with the reimbursement received from your group medical insurance plan. You may then submit another individual medical insurance claim to enhance your overall protection. Here's two of our Bupa plans with deductibles:

  • Bupa HealthPlus: A relatively affordable plan that fully reimburses hospital expenses at semi-private room level (see Remark 2) up to HK$3 million per year (see Remark 3). In addition, you can claim up to HK$695,000 per year for cancer treatment and kidney dialysis expenses. With three deductible options (HK$0/HK$12,000/HK$40,000) available, this plan covers diagnosis, in-patient care and follow-up out-patient visits after surgery or cancer treatment, etc.
  • Bupa Hero VHIS: This plan offers comprehensive medical protection with full cover for eligible expenses (see Remark 4) up to HK$30 million per year and no lifetime benefit limit. Prescribed non-surgical cancer treatments are covered in full. With four deductible options (HK$0/ HK$12,000/ HK$40,000/ HK$80,000) available, this plan will help you significantly lower your premiums. This is a VHIS plan that is eligible for tax deduction.

 

Greater flexibility with optional benefits

Last but not least, some medical insurance plans offer greater flexibility with different coverage options. Customers can choose to add various benefits based on their needs to expand their coverage (see Remark 5). For example with Bupa Hero VHIS, customers can include the Supplementary Critical Illness Benefit, which provides coverage for up to 98% of all serious critical illnesses (see Remark 6), such as cancer, heart attack and stroke with a lifetime benefit amount up to HK$3,300,000 in aggregate (see Remark 7). In addition, the plan also provides Clinical, Maternity, as well as Dental and Optical Benefit as optional benefits that can be enjoyed across Asia, Australia and New Zealand.

 

Read more:
How can I use a deductible to lower my medical insurance expenses?


Remarks:
1 Source: Medical Claims Statistics 2018. Hong Kong Federation of Insurers.

2 Bupa HealthPlus: You need to follow the required procedures to enjoy full cover or cashless treatment. Please refer to the notes in the Schedule of Benefits and Contract for more details.

3 Bupa HealthPlus: The annual maximum cover for members aged 65 or above and for treatment received in the USA is different. Please refer to the Schedule of Benefits for details.

4 Bupa Hero VHIS: Please refer to the Summary of Benefits for the items eligible for full cover. Full cover is only applicable to covered expenses and subject to the annual benefit limit, deductible and restricted ward class set out in the Summary of Benefits. 5 Bupa Hero VHIS: Optional benefits are not part of the VHIS certified plan. The premiums paid are not eligible for claiming tax deduction and any family discount.

6 Bupa Hero VHIS: The 85 critical illnesses covered under the critical illness basic benefits and optional Extended Major Critical Illness Benefit of the Supplementary Critical Illness Benefit include 98% of designated critical illnesses in 10Life's Scoring Methodology of Term Critical Illness Insurance. Exclusions and waiting periods apply. Please refer to the contract for the terms and excluded conditions.
 
7 Bupa Hero VHIS: Waiting periods apply between payment of benefit items. Additional Cancer Benefit is also subject to active cancer treatment requirements. Please refer to the Important Information section of the Supplementary Critical Illness Benefit brochure for details.
 

 

< Back

Get Details

 

 

The above summary of our insurance products is for reference only. It is not, and does not form part of, a contract of insurance and is designed to provide an overview of the key features of these products.

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Get Quote or Details】

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly at 2517 5860.

The registration service is temporarily unavailable due to system maintenance. Please leave your contact details below and we will contact you once registration service is resumed.

Member get member

Rewards for referrers

Get HK$500 in supermarket coupons for every successful referral you make!

There's no limit on the referrals you can make. The more you refer, the higher the rewards!

Exclusive offer for referrers

If your family and friends successfully enrol in Bupa individual medical scheme, your family and friends can enjoy the following rewards:

  • 【Limited-time offer】 Bupa HERO VHIS Plan - 30% off for single enrolment and up to 70% off for 3 or more enrolments^
  • 【New】 Bupa SAFE Critical Illness Insurance Scheme - 20% off for single enrolment, 40% off for 2 or more enrolments#
  • Other selected individual medical schemes: up to 30% off

The promotion is valid until 31 December 2021. Act now!


Terms and conditions apply (PDF, 301KB)
I have read and accepted the Personal Data Information Collection Statement .
By clicking "Submit", I confirm that I give consent to Bupa using my personal data for direct marketing of its related insurance products and services.

Need recommendations?

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

既然有團體醫保,還需自購個人醫保嗎?

既然有團體醫保,還需自購個人醫保嗎?

既然有團體醫保,還需自購個人醫保嗎?

許多在職人士都疑惑,既然公司提供團體醫保,還需要自購個人醫保嗎?特別是年輕的打工一族,一般鮮有大病,就算患病,通常只是傷風感冒之類,所以只著眼於門診保障,從而以為公司醫保足夠應付;而對於住院保障為主的個人醫保,就抱着慳得就慳的心態。事實上,個人醫保保障範圍更廣,與團體醫保可相輔相成,為您提供更全面保障。

  

團體醫保涵蓋門診及住院,個人醫保進一步提升保障

團體醫保可為受保人提供基本的保護網,涵蓋門診及住院保障。根據香港保險業聯會2018年的統計數字,團體保險標準房住院個案的平均索償金額為41,802港元,而團體保險償付百分率約75%1。換言之,病人仍需支付餘下的25%醫療開支,而由於上述金額是平均值,對於費用高昂的住院個案,如癌症、通波仔,償付百分率可能顯著較低。

此外,值得留意的是,當打工仔轉工或失業時,便會失去團體醫保的保障,繼而出現保障真空期,再者,無人可預測下一份工作會否提供團體醫保﹗所以,大家應未雨綢繆,趁著健康時,及早選購個人醫保,給自己一個更完善的健康保障。即使您已有團體醫保,但仍可利用個人醫保提升保障,相得益彰。

  

善用自付費  調低個人醫保保費

市場上的個人醫保大致可分為兩類:沒有自付費和設有自付費。自付費又稱墊底費,可理解為投保人須先自行負擔的醫療費用,而保險公司則會負責超出自付費後的合資格醫療開支,並受相關保障額所限。

那麼,設有自付費的醫保又有何好處?簡單而言,客戶可透過設自付費的個人醫保,來調低保費;自付費越高,保費可下調得越低。投保人如有公司團體醫保,便可利用團體醫保的賠償來抵銷自付費,然後索償個人醫保,提升整體醫療保障。以下是設有自付費的計劃﹕

  • 保柏悅康健:價錢相對大眾化,全數賠償入住半私家病房的住院開支2,保障額高達每年港幣三百萬3,並且每年賠償癌症及洗腎治療費用高達港幣695,000元。計劃設有3項自付費選擇(0/ 12,000/ 40,000港元),保障涵蓋診斷、住院、以至手術或癌症治療後的門診跟進治療等。
  • Bupa Hero保柏非凡自願醫保﹕提供全面的醫療保障,全數賠償合資格醫療開支4,每年保障限額高達三千萬,不設終身保障限額。全數賠償涵蓋訂明非手術癌症治療。產品提供4項自付費選擇(0/ 12,000/ 40,000/ 80,000港元),助您大幅減低保費。產品為自願醫保計劃,投保人可享稅務優惠。

 

彈性加入自選保障

最後,順帶一提,部份醫保的設計非常彈性靈活。客戶可因應個人需要,加入自選保障。5再以Bupa Hero保柏非凡自願醫保為例,客戶可按個人需要,加配危疾附加保障,計劃涵蓋高達98%危疾6,包括癌症、心臟病、中風,終生賠償總額可達可達$330萬。7。此外,客戶也可以自選門診、產科、牙科及視力保障,這些自選保障適用於亞洲、澳洲及新西蘭地區。

 

伸延閱讀:
〈如何運用醫保「墊底費」至精明?〉

 


1 數據來自香港保險業聯會《醫療索償數據知多少?2018年醫療索償數據調查》。

2 保柏悅康健:您須要按照有關所需程序,以享全數賠償或免找數服務。詳情請參閱「保障金額表」之附註及合約。

3 保柏悅康健:65歲或以上之會員及在美國接受治療之每年最高賠償額不同。詳情請參閱「保障金額表」。

4 Bupa Hero保柏非凡自願醫保﹕有關全數賠償所涵蓋的項目,請參閱保障摘要。全數賠償只適用於合資格費用,並受限於保障摘要所列的每年保障限額、自付費及指定病房級別。

5 Bupa Hero保柏非凡自願醫保﹕自選保障並不屬自願醫保認可產品的一部分,有關之保費不可用作申請稅項扣減,亦不適用於家庭折扣。

6 Bupa Hero保柏非凡自願醫保﹕「保柏危疾附加保障」的危疾基本保障及自選「嚴重危疾延伸保障」下受保的85 種危疾已涵蓋10Life定期危疾保險評分方法下的98%指定危疾。設不受保障項目及等候期,有關條款及不受保障項目,請參閱合約。

7 Bupa Hero保柏非凡自願醫保﹕各保障項目之間的賠償設等候期。額外癌症保障設有積極癌症治療要求。詳情請參閱危疾附加保障產品冊子的「重要資料」部份。

< 返回

查詢詳情

 

 

以上乃計劃的資料摘要,僅供參考,旨在提供計劃的主要特色概覽,並非亦不構成合約的一部分。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多自願醫保及其他醫保計劃詳情。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【索取報價及詳情】

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可致電2517 5860聯絡我們。

由於進行系統維護工程,本登記服務暫停運作。

Member get member

推薦人獎賞

每成功推薦送您HK$500 超市禮券

推薦人數不設上限,推薦愈多,獎賞愈多!

被推薦人投保優惠

如被推薦人成功投保保柏個人醫療保障計劃,被推薦人可獲以下首年投保優惠:

  • 【限時震撼優惠】 Bupa HERO 非凡自願醫保個人投保7折,三人同行3折^
  • 【全新】Bupa SAFE 危疾全禦保:一人投保8折,二人或以上6折#
  • 其他指定個人醫保計劃:高達7折

優惠期至2021年12月31日。立即行動!


受條款及細則約束 (PDF, 301KB)
本人已閱讀並明白個人資料收集聲明
按「傳送」即代表本人同意保柏使用本人之個人資料向本人提供有關保險產品及服務相關的市場推廣資訊。

需要產品建議?