Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Health protection

【Medical Insurance】Doctor's advice: Health Protection and VHIS Tips from age 0 to 80 Years old!

【Medical Insurance】Doctor's advice: Health Protection and VHIS Tips from age 0 to 80 Years old!


health protection

Everyone knows that we must pay attention to our health, but many people don't care enough about their wellbeing. Maybe you’re too young and think that getting sick doesn't matter? Or you may think that health check-ups and doctors’ visits are too costly. So even if you have minor illnesses or discomforts, you won’t see a doctor because of the expense? If you’ve had similar thoughts before, it’s a good idea to stop and reconsider. Many things in life can be planned, but you can never predict when you’ll get sick. It’s something you can’t control. That’s why we should prepare the medical insurance and have health protection earlier.

 

We're pleased to invite Dr SiNing Zhao, Medical Director of Bupa Hong Kong, to share her professional perspectives on the healthcare landscape in Hong Kong, the health of Hong Kong people and the importance of protecting your health as soon as possible.

 

1. What kind of healthcare can Hong Kong people expect now? How can everyone be better prepared?

The public medical system in Hong Kong is excellent with professional medical staff. However, it’s been overloaded for a period of time, which has caused long waiting times for patients. Taking a general chronic disease as an example, the waiting time for new cases may be as long as 2 years before seeing a doctor for the first time, and people need to wait 6-12 months for a scheduled surgery.

 

As for private medical services, the scope of charges varies. Not only are the chance of separated charges for diagnostic tests, hospitalization, operations, attending doctors' visits, medications, miscellaneous items and so on, but also there’s inflation every year, which the charge maybe unpredictable for the general public. For example, for people with critical illnesses such as cancer, cardiovascular disease and stroke—which require surgery, chemotherapy, magnetic resonance imaging, intensive care and so on—daily medical expenses can easily exceed HK$100,000. If treatment lasts for several months, it may cost millions. If you don’t have medical insurance, it’s definitely a huge financial burden. Therefore, everyone shouldplan ahead and have purchase VHIS earlier and factor healthcare expenses into their budget.

 

In particular, young people may think that sickness is very unlikely or far off, so they won’t do much planning to manage their health. When they get sick, their condition may already be serious. It’s important to visit doctors and plan health protection earlier. This not only makes treatments more effective, but also helps to avoid economic and mental stress caused by expensive treatments.

 

2. What health issues should Hong Kong people pay more attention to?

Different age groups have different health problems. For example, people aged 30-40 years old are often focused on achieving professional goals. In addition to a lot of work-related stress, they have to take care of their parents and children at home. They’re beginning to realise the importance of maintaining physical and mental health, so regular health check-ups are recommended. Around the age of 40-50, you should start paying attention to chronic diseases such as diabetes and hypertension. By the age of 50-60, in addition to the increased risk of stroke, heart disease and cancer, you must also be careful of aging joints and pain in areas such as the knees and lower back.

 

But no matter what age you are, you need to pay attention to mental health. The fast pace of life can be stressful for everyone. Many people are only getting by and don’t freely talk about mental health issues. If stress builds up over a period of time, both your physical and mental health will be affected. Symptoms can include insomnia, where you’re easily tired; weakened resistance, so it’s easy to catch colds and have more frequent gastrointestinal discomforts; as well as feeling anxious, easily losing your temper and even concentration and memory loss, which affect performance at work. In other words, mental health is essential in maintaining overall health.

 

health protection

3. Since physical and mental health are equally important, what good habits can we develop to help maintain overall health?

Firstly, a balanced diet is important, like eating less salt and sugar, less meat, more vegetables and so on. Secondly, develop the habit of exercising. Even during the current epidemic, you must get enough exercise, such as exercising at home with YouTube videos or wearing a mask to go jogging. Thirdly, interact more with relatives and friends online to maintain good mental health. In addition, you should invest in your health as soon as possible, with comprehensive medical protection that fully supports physical and mental health.

 

The Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme (VHIS) under the Food and Health Bureau was implemented in April 2019. As of the end of September 2019, more than 300,000 eligible insurance policies had been sold. About 33% of the insured persons were under 30 years old and about 50% of the insured persons were under the age of 40, which shows young people are aware of the need for medical protection and getting prepared.1

 

4. But how do we know if we should purchase a VHIS plan? How can we choose a suitable medical insurance?

VHIS is suitable for everyone from age 0 to 80 years old, and the sooner you buy, the better. That’s because when you’re young and in good health, premiums are cheaper and having insurance helps improve your health awareness. For example, many people ignore medical problems and think that regular check-ups and doctors’ visits are costly. Even if they have minor illnesses or discomforts, they’re discouraged by the medical expenses. But if you have a VHIS plan, it can help to reduce medical expenses and you’ll be more willing to get health check-ups, visit the doctor and receive treatment, which will help identify any health problems earlier.

 

Moreover, because of unhealthy diets, poor work-life balance and stress, many diseases are now occurring at younger ages than in the past. Buying a VHIS plan early is a responsible investment for your health and future. As for how to choose a VHIS plan, in addition to factors such as price and personal needs, the most important thing is whether it offers enough protection. For example, Bupa Hero VHIS Plan is a good choice because it can provide you with comprehensive protection that brings you peace of mind.

 

5. How does Bupa Hero VHIS plan help you lead a healthy life?

Bupa Hero VHIS plan offers all-inclusive support for both physical and mental health, which can fully protect you and your loved ones. Key features include:

 

5-star professional evaluation

Bupa Hero VHIS plan  was rated as the No. 1 high-end medical insurance (semi-private room) and No. 1 high-end VHIS product (private room) with a 10Life2 rating of 10/10. It provides annual coverage of up to HK$30 million, fully covering eligible medical expenses.

 

Comprehensive protection in Hong Kong and overseas

The place of medical treatment isn’t limited to Hong Kong, but also includes Asia, Australia and New Zealand. Bupa Hero VHIS plan offers full cover for eligible cancer surgery and treatment expenses (such as chemotherapy, targeted therapy and so on) as well as coverage for other severe and common diseases (such as stroke, kidney failure, cataract and more).

 

Flexible optional benefits

This plan provides a variety of optional benefits, allowing you to easily tailor your plan to suit your needs. The Clinical Benefit fully covers eligible outpatient expenses for general practitioners, specialists, physiotherapy, Chinese medicine, chiropractors and psychiatric-related treatments.

 

Comprehensive support for mental health

Bupa Hero VHIS plan  provides the first mental health clinical network in Hong Kong. Through a new 24-hour mental health hotline, qualified counselors provide free mental support. If necessary, face-to-face counseling can be arranged. In addition, it includes full cover for eligible inpatient psychiatric treatment expenses in Asia, Australia and New Zealand.

 

Various health support services

For example, Bupa provides a 24-hour customer service hotline and an AI service ambassador via a WhatsApp chatbot to help answer policy questions. With Bupa’s newly launched video consultation service, eligible members can stay at home and consult a doctor through a video consultation via designed network provider. Afterwards any prescribed medication, referral letter and sick leave certificate will be delivered directly to their home by courier.

 

What’s more, Bupa Hero VHIS plan  provides additional health check-ups (Deluxe Plan only), expert advice for second medical opinions, a medical card for cashless treatment and so on. A wide variety of medical support allows Bupa Hero VHIS plan  to provide customers with more comprehensive protection.

 

Get more details about medical insurance plan now!


health protection

(Original article (Traditional Chinese version only) published at: Yahoo! X BetterMe website www.betterme-magazine.com )

 

Other recommend articles: 

 

1 https://www.info.gov.hk/gia/general/202001/16/P2020011600275.htm

2 Insurance ratings are provided by 10Life (www.10Life.com/ratings) for reference only. Bupa does not provide any compensation (such as commissions or referral fees) to 10Life for ratings or related insurance sales activities. 10Life insurance ratings do not take into account your personal goals, financial situation and needs. This information is for general educational and reference purposes only and does not constitute any recommendation to purchase insurance products. Consumers are advised to should go through the suitability assessment with a Bupa Health Management Consultant before applying for insurance that will suit their needs.

< Back

Get Details

 

 

The above summary of our insurance products is for reference only. It is not, and does not form part of, a contract of insurance and is designed to provide an overview of the key features of these products.

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Get Quote or Details】

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly at 2517 5860.

By clicking “Submit” below you give consent for the personal information submitted on this page to be used as described in paragraph 1 of Personal Data Information Collection Statement.


Need recommendations?

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

醫保保障健康

【自願醫保】醫療保險保障健康的重要性

【自願醫保】醫療保險保障健康的重要性


醫保保障健康

關於健康,大家都知道要重視,卻又有不少人對自己的健康關心不足。可能是自恃年輕,以為生病事不關己?又或者認為身體檢查、看醫生要花錢,所以即使有小毛病或不適,都因為醫療費用而卻步?如果你也曾經有這些念頭,請停一停,諗一諗,人生之中很多事情可以well planned,唯獨會不會生病、幾時生病不可以預計,亦不能自己話事,所以我們更應及早準備醫療保障,擁有一份自願醫保十分重要!

 

今次就請來保柏香港醫學總監趙思凝醫生,透過醫生的專業角度,跟大家分享有關香港的醫療環境、港人的健康狀況,以及盡早為健康預備的重要性。

 

1. 港人面對怎樣的醫療環境?建議大家如何做好準備?

趙醫生:「香港公營醫療系統十分出色,又有非常專業的醫護人員,但因長期超負荷,以致病人輪候時間過長,以一般慢性病為例,新症輪候時間可能長達2年,才能首次見醫生,然後排期接受手術往往需要再等6-12個月排期接受手術。

 

至於私營醫療則收費範疇及方式不一 ,不但診斷檢查、住院、醫生手術、醫生巡房、住院、診斷檢查、藥物注射、雜項等等有機會逐樣收費,而且更加上每年的通脹,普羅大眾實在難以預料有關負擔。例如癌症、心血管疾病、中風等重症,或需接受外科手術、化療、磁力共振、深切治療等等,一天的醫療費用動輒超過10萬元,如果需要長達數月治療的話,有可能要花上百萬,假如無醫療保險,絕對是龐大經濟負擔。所以,大家好應未雨綢繆,為健康及醫療保障預留儲備。

 

尤其是年輕人或會以為病魔離自己好遠,未有將健康管理及醫療保障納入人生規劃,結果真的生病時,可能已經病情嚴重。病向淺中醫,不但令治療更有效,更可以減輕治病帶來的經濟及情緒壓力。」

 

2. 港人比較需要關注哪些健康問題?

趙醫生:「不同年齡層面對的健康問題各異,如30-40歲正值拼摶時期,有沉重的工作壓力之餘,又要照顧家中父母和子女,開始意識到維持身心健康的重要性,建議以定期檢查來跟進健康狀況。至於40-50歲,要開始注意糖尿、高血壓等慢性病。到了50-60歲,除了中風、心臟病、癌症的風險增加,更要小心膝蓋、腰背等關節痛症。

 

但無論哪一個年齡層都需要關注情緒健康,因為急促的生活節奏為大家帶來情緒壓力,而不少人只會忍耐,亦不會輕易談論情緒健康問題。要知道任由情緒壓力日積月累,身心都會跟著出狀況,例如失眠、易倦;抵抗力變差,容易傷風感冒,亦會較常腸胃不適;還會感到焦慮不安,易發脾氣,甚至專注力和記憶力減退,影響工作表現。換句話說,情緒健康對維持整體健康不可或缺!」

 

醫保保障健康

3. 既然身體和情緒健康都同樣重要,應及早養成哪些好習慣,來幫助維持身心健康?

趙醫生:「首先,要均衡飲食、少鹽少糖、少肉多菜等等。第二,養成運動習慣,即使現在的非常時期,都要保持適量運動,例如在家跟著YouTube影片做運動,或者戴上口罩出外慢跑。第三,多與親友線上互動,保持情緒健康。除了以上幾點,更應及早投資健康,準備周全的醫療保障,全面支援身體和情緒健康。

 

根據食物及衞生局的數據顯示,自願醫保自2019年4月全面推行,截至同年9月底,售出的認可產品保單數目超過30萬;當中約33%受保人是30歲以下,約50%受保人為40歲以下,反映年輕人對醫療保障的關注,並有為健康做好準備1 。」

 

4. 但我們怎麼知道自己是否需要購買自願醫保?即使想買,又應如何揀選合適醫療保險?

趙醫生:「由出生15天的BB至80歲人士都可選擇自願醫保,而且越早購買越好,因為趁年輕及健康狀態良好時購買,保費較便宜之餘,更有助提高健康意識。例如不少人諱疾忌醫之餘,又認為身體檢查、看醫生要花錢,所以即使有小毛病或不適,都因為醫療費用而卻步;但如果有份自願醫保傍身,就可減少醫療支出的顧慮,會更願意去做身體檢查、看醫生、接受治療,有助更早發現病症。

 

而且,因為不良飲食及作息習慣,還有生活壓力的影響,令不少疾病有年輕化的趨勢,及早購買自願醫保才是對自己的健康和未來負責任的表現。至於如何揀選自願醫保,除了考慮價錢、個人需要等因素,更重要的是其保障是否夠全面,萬一生病時是否能提供令你安心的周全保障。」

 

為自己和摯愛及早預備 最強大的健康後盾

正如趙醫生所說,要維持身心健康,除了要注意飲食、運動、社交,及早購買自願醫保亦是重要的一步!例如「Bupa Hero非凡自願醫保計劃」正是健康的強大後盾,全面守護你和摯愛的身心健康,特點包括:

 

榮獲5星級專業評價

Bupa Hero非凡自願醫保計劃榮獲10Life評級為10/10滿分的No. 1高端醫療保險(半私家房)及No. 1高端自願醫保產品(私家房)2 ,並提供每年高達$3,000萬保障額,全數賠償合資格醫療開支。

 

本港及外地的周全保障

就醫地點不只局限本港,更於亞洲、澳洲及新西蘭,全數賠償合資格癌症手術及治療費用(如化療、標靶治療等),以及其他重症及常見疾病(如中風、腎衰竭、白內障等)手術費用。

 

靈活自選保障

提供多種自選保障,全數賠償普通科、專科、物理治療、中醫、跌打、精神科相關治療的合資格門診費用,讓你輕鬆制定適合自己的醫療保障計劃。

 

全面支援情緒健康

提供全港首個情緒健康門診網絡,並設24小時情緒解碼熱線,由合資格輔導員提供免費情緒支援,如有需要,更可安排面談輔導。計劃更全數賠償合資格住院精神科治療費用,就醫地點涵蓋亞洲、澳洲及新西蘭。

 

各種健康支援服務

計劃設有24小時客戶服務專線及WhatsApp智能服務大使幫助解答保單問題,並推出全新視像診症服務,合資格會員可安坐家中以視像電話方式透過指定網絡供應商,讓醫生進行診症,藥物、醫生轉介信及病假證明書會由速遞直接送到家中。

 

除了以上特點,Bupa Hero非凡自願醫保計劃更提供額外身體檢查保障(尊尚計劃),並可安排專家提供第二醫療意見,使用醫療卡可享免找數、免索償等服務,各種醫療支援讓Bupa Hero為客戶帶來更全面、更周全、更安心的保障。

 

現在就了解更多醫療保險計劃詳情! 

醫保保障健康

 

(原文載於:雅虎香港 x 好習慣網站 www.betterme-magazine.com )

 

 瀏覽更多推薦文章:

 

1自願醫保計劃 首六個月保單數目超越30萬 https://www.info.gov.hk/gia/general/202001/16/P2020011600275.htm

2保險評級及評分由10Life (https://www.10life.com/ratings) 提供,僅供參考用途。保柏並沒有就評級及於評分或相關保險銷售活動中提供任何報酬﹙如佣金或介紹費﹚予10Life。10Life保險評級及評分並沒有考慮你的個人目的、財務狀況及需要。此資料僅供一般性的教育及參考用途,並不構成任何購買保險產品的建議。消費者應該於投保前與保柏健康管理顧問進行保障建議諮詢,以選擇適合自己的保險方案。

< 返回

查詢詳情

 

 

以上乃計劃的資料摘要,僅供參考,旨在提供計劃的主要特色概覽,並非亦不構成合約的一部分。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多自願醫保及其他醫保計劃詳情。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【索取報價及詳情】

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可致電2517 5860聯絡我們。

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。


需要產品建議?