Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Plan smart

【Plan smart】


Let children truly "win at the starting line"

Better me

Parents' desire to help their children "win at the starting line" has become a hot topic recently. Many parents will arrange different kinds of tutorials, hobbies, prestigious schools and so on for their children. But does this really create a better future for them? A survey by the Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) found that about 60% of the Hong Kong people interviewed opposed this approach. Instead, they put more emphasis on nurturing their children's character and overall development1. That’s because helping children develop healthy bodies and minds is the real starting line for winning. So what can parents do now? Here’s a few ideas:

 

1. The most important thing is to know how to play

Games aren’t simply a way for children to release their energy. Through games, children can fully explore and cultivate their cognitive abilities, communication skills and physical development. What should we play? Parent-child games including role-play such as cooking, acting as a doctor and being a teacher are the best.

 

This way, you can teach your children to think independently. Imagining the thoughts and behaviours of different characters can develop their problem-solving skills. For examples, they can think about how a teacher should deal with students not doing their homework, how shop assistants can promote products and so on. Through these interactions, children can learn communication skills and how to deal with others.

 

Moreover, play can stimulate children's creativity and imagination. Try using everyday items such as toilet paper rolls, scarves, fabric, cardboard suitcases and other materials to replace plastic toys and ready-made costumes. This will encourage abstract thinking and unleash creativity.

Better me

 

2. Learn financial management while playing games

If you don’t develop the right ideas about money when you’re young, you may worry about financial management when you’re older. With cashless payment readily available nowadays, children can ride public transport and buy snacks with their own Octopus card. If parents don’t provide correct guidance, their children may develop bad or excessive spending habits.

 

As mentioned above, It’s important to learn through games. Parents can play board games such as Monopoly with their children, so that they can learn how to use and spend money appropriately. In addition, the Investor and Financial Education Council’s webpage “The Chin Family" has a lot of parent-child financial management activities available for free download2, so that you and your children can learn while playing games.

 

3. Build our children’s future and protect their health

Although fostering cognition, intelligence, creativity and financial literacy is very important, health is always the top priority. Without good health, future plans are difficult to achieve. That’s why parents must pay attention to their children’s daily diet, exercise, and work and rest habits. In addition to laying a good foundation for health, you should also consider providing medical protection for them as soon as possible. In case your children get sick, they can receive the most appropriate treatment. And at the same time, you have sufficient financial, therapeutic and emotional assistance. A caring VHIS plan is a strong support to protect your children’s future.

 

Since it’s a gift for your children, of course you must choose the best insurance! Bupa Hero VHIS Plan provides up to HKD30 million in coverage annually, including all eligible medical expenses, and there’s no lifetime benefit limit. No matter how much you claim, your coverage will be automatically restored every year, allowing you and your loved ones to receive higher quality treatment. The insured can be the child or grandchild of the policy holder, with the insured age ranging from 15 days to 80 years (inclusive). This plan also covers medical expenses for unknown pre-existing conditions and congenital condition(s) with symptoms appearing or diagnosed after age 8.

 

What’s more, the place of medical treatment isn’t limited to Hong Kong. Regardless of whether your child travels or studies in Asia, Australia or New Zealand, they can receive the treatment they need. They can also go anywhere in the region to receive more appropriate treatments. Items such as chemotherapy, targeted therapy and other eligible cancer surgery and treatment expenses, as well as expenses for other severe and common diseases (such as stroke, kidney failure, cataracts and so on) can be fully covered. In addition, there’s a special benefit fully covering a companion bed in hospital. So parents can remain close by during treatment, take care of their children and help them recover soon.

 

For more details and to get a quote now: https://www.bupa.com.hk/hero .



(Original article (Traditional Chinese version only) published at: Yahoo! X BetterMe website www.betterme-magazine.com )



1 https://www.cpr.cuhk.edu.hk/tc/press_detail.php?id=2317

2 https://www.ifec.org.hk/web/tc/parent/tools-activities/index.page

< Back

Get Details

 

 

The above summary of our insurance products is for reference only. It is not, and does not form part of, a contract of insurance and is designed to provide an overview of the key features of these products.

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Get Quote or Details】

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly at 2517 5860.

By clicking “Submit” below you give consent for the personal information submitted on this page to be used as described in paragraph 1 of Personal Data Information Collection Statement.


Need recommendations?

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

習慣籌備

【習慣籌備】


讓孩子真正的「贏在起跑線」

Better me

父母想讓子女「贏在起跑線」的催谷心態曾經成為一時熱話,為子女安排各式各樣的補習班、興趣堂、讀名校等等,是否真的可以「童」建未來?中大調查發現約6成受訪港人反對這一套,反而更著重培育子女的品格和身心全能發展1,因為讓孩子擁有健康身心靈才是真正的贏在起跑線,至於要怎麼做?不妨由以下3大方面著手:

 

1. 小朋友,最緊要識玩!

遊戲不是為了讓小朋友「放電」那麼簡單,透過玩樂,讓孩子盡情探索,有助培育認知能力、溝通技巧和體能發展。至於玩什麼好?煮飯仔、扮醫生、做老師等角色扮演的親子遊戲就最適合不過。

 

一來可以訓練小朋友獨立思考,設想不同人物的思想和行為,亦可以培養解難能力,例如老師要怎樣處理學生無做功課、店員如何推銷產品等等,透過互動更可以學習語言溝通和待人接物的技巧;

 

二來又可以激發孩子的創意和想像力,例如以廁紙筒、圍巾、布料、紙皮箱等素材,取代塑膠玩具、現成角色服裝,刺激小朋友抽象思考,發揮天馬行空的創造力。

Better me

 

2. 邊玩邊學親子理財

小時不培養正確的金錢觀,大時可能會為理財而煩惱。尤其是現代社會虛擬貨幣普及化,小朋友拿著一張小童八達通「嘟一嘟」就可以搭車、買零食,假如家長沒有給予正確指導,或會讓孩子從小養成過度揮霍的壞習慣。

 

正如上文提到寓學習於遊戲,爸媽可以和小朋友玩大富翁等桌遊,讓孩子從中學習如何適當使用及分配金錢。另外,投委會的理財教育平台「錢家有道」亦有不少親子理財的活動教材供免費下載2,實行邊玩邊學。

 

3. 「童」建未來,守護健康

雖然認知、智能、創意、理財等培育很重要,但說到底健康始終是重中之重,因為沒有健康,再多的未來計劃藍圖也難以實現,所以爸媽必須注意孩子的日常飲食、運動和作息習慣,打好健康基礎之餘,更應及早做好準備,萬一子女患病都可以接受最適當的治療,同時又有足夠的經濟、治療及情緒支援。一份貼心的自願醫保,是守護子女未來的強大後盾。

 

既然是送給子女的禮物,當然要揀最好!「Bupa Hero非凡自願醫保計劃」提供每年高達3,000萬保障額,全數賠償合資格醫療開支,更不設終身保障限額,無論索償多少,保額均會每年自動還原,讓你和摯愛安心接受更高質的治療。而受保人可以是保單持有人之子女、孫子女,投保年齡包括出世後15日至80歲(包括首尾歲數),保障項目涵蓋投保前未知的已有病症及8歲後出現徵狀或確診的先天性疾病。

 

更特別的一點是,就醫地點不只局限於本港,無論子女於亞洲、澳洲或新西蘭外遊、升學期間接受治療,抑或前往上述地方接受更適切治療,例如化療、標靶治療等合資格癌症手術及治療費用,以及其他重症及常見疾病(如中風、腎衰竭、白內障等)手術費用,均可獲全數賠償;另外,更特別設有「住院陪床費」保障,全數賠償陪床費,讓父母可以更貼身照顧子女,讓他們早日康復。

 

欲了解更多計劃詳情及索取報價,可瀏覽:https://www.bupa.com.hk/hero

(原文載於:雅虎香港 x 好習慣網站 www.betterme-magazine.com )



1中大香港亞太研究所民調:六成人不贊成需贏在起跑線 https://www.cpr.cuhk.edu.hk/tc/press_detail.php?id=2317

2投委會理財教育平台「錢家有道」- 親子理財 https://www.ifec.org.hk/web/tc/parent/tools-activities/index.page

< 返回

查詢詳情

 

 

以上乃計劃的資料摘要,僅供參考,旨在提供計劃的主要特色概覽,並非亦不構成合約的一部分。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多自願醫保及其他醫保計劃詳情。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【索取報價及詳情】

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可致電2517 5860聯絡我們。

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。


需要產品建議?