Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

How to choose the right insurance

Parents are always looking to give the best protection to their children, especially when it comes to their health and wellbeing. There are many choices out there: medical, savings, life insurance, and critical illness to name just a few. Which ones should you get?

Parents want to give their children the best of everything, including insurance protection. The type of insurance to get depends on individual needs. Medical insurance pays for hospitalisation and out-patient treatment expenses. Savings insurance aims for long-term wealth accumulation and appreciation such as education fund. Life insurance provides unfortunate death compensation. Critical illness offers a lump sum compensation to help pay for the treatment or family living expenses once diagnosed with critical illness.

Practically speaking, children in different growth stages have different protection needs. Toddlers have weaker immunity and can be easily infected with various illnesses, especially for school children. Illnesses can easily spread between classmates, which often leads to fever that requires hospitalisation. In addition, children’s playfulness often get them into accidental injuries. Parents should get adequate medical insurance scheme for their children so that they can receive the immediate care needed due to unforeseen circumstances. Even a short hospital stay with room and board plus various medical examinations can burn a hole in your pocket.

Whether to opt for clinical benefit or critical illness insurance for their children, parents can first evaluate their needs. Most parents may not consider critical illness insurance necessary for their kids. However, if their child gets seriously ill unfortunately, critical illness insurance provides a lump sum compensation to cope with treatment cost during this challenging time. A parent may also have to give up their work to take care of their child. In this case, critical illness insurance compensation can support daily living expenses for the family.

Useful tip:

Child insurance schemes available in the market may seem to have similar offers to one another. But in fact, the details of benefit item may be very different. This directly affects the reimbursement amount. Parents should take note of the item limit or maximum number of days.

Some schemes such as Bupa Care Kid provide Full Cover Benefit, which offers full cover for hospital expenses with no limit on each item. It covers all eligible hospital expenses as long as the total hospital expenses fall within the annual maximum limit. This scheme also provides a medical card* so you don’t need to pay any admission deposit or hospital bills and no claims procedure to follow. Thus, allowing the parents to focus on their children’s recovery.

*A medical card will be issued if Full Cover Benefit or Supplementary Major Medical Benefit is selected.

Insurance schemes / Key features
  • 100% reimbursement of medical expenses if Full Cover Benefit is selected
  • No hassle of payment and claims by using medical card if Supplementary Major Medical Benefit is selected
  • Companion Bed Benefit is available for parents who look after their children during hospitalisation
  • Enjoy 50% discount when enrolling with both parents
  • Covers 58 critical illnesses such as leukaemia, encephalitis, cancer, etc. Up to HK$1.5 million in compensation
  • Affordable subscription that is guaranteed unchanged for 5 years
  • Up to HK$300,000 free cover for medical treatments when diagnosed with any major critical illnesses

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

如何選擇合適的保險

父母愛錫孩子,總想給小朋友最全面的保障。有人話買醫療、儲蓄、人壽、危疾… 真的要全部保險計劃都買?那麼多種類,哪樣最重要?

作為父母,總想給子女預備一切最好的,包括購買保險計劃。至於購買甚麼保險計劃可視乎個人需要,一般來說醫療保險以實報實銷的方式,用作支付手術和住院期間的開支或門診治療等費用;儲蓄保險則以長遠累積和增值資金為目標,例如教育基金;人壽保險則保障不幸身故的賠償;至於危疾則以保障一旦患上嚴重疾病時提供一筆過的賠償以應付治療或家人生活費用。

其實孩子在不同的成長階段也有不同的保障需要,例如年幼子女抵抗力可能較弱,容易感染各類疾病。尤其是在學幼童,一旦同學患病,便很容易被傳染而發燒,須入院治療;亦因活潑好動或會出現小意外如跌傷、撞傷等,因此建議父母可先為子女購買住院保險,一旦子女不幸需要入院治療,也可讓子女第一時間入住私家醫院,更快得到治療和照顧。不要少看小朋友住院的費用,即使只是兩三天,住院費加上多項檢驗費,隨時可能花費過萬。

至於門診或危疾保障,父母可視乎需要而購買。很多父母可能未必想過要為孩子購買危疾保險,但試想想,若孩子不幸患上危疾,一筆過的現金賠償便可在關鍵時刻提供充裕資金作治療費用;父或母亦可能須要放棄工作專心照顧子女,該筆賠償亦正好幫助支援生活開支。

實用小提示:

市面上的兒童保險計劃看似大同小異,但其實賠償細節及條款可以有很大出入,直接影響賠償金額。例如各項保障細項是否設有上限、保障日數等。

以保柏的「童康健」醫療保障計劃為例,便設有自選「全數賠償保障」,不限制每項住院細項的費用,只要總費用不超出年度總保障額,便可獲全數賠償。計劃亦提供醫療卡服務*,無須自己先繳付費用和辦理索償手續,可專心照顧患病子女。

*投保人只要選擇「全數賠償保障」或「附加醫療保障」便可獲及醫療卡。

保險計劃 / 主要特點
  • 加入「全數賠償保障」,住院費用可獲百分百賠償
  • 加入「附加醫療保障」,憑醫療卡住院免繳費免索償
  • 設「住院加床費」保障,賠償父母於子女住院期間的住院加床費
  • 家庭投保,子女保費半價
  • 保障58種常見危疾如白血病、腦炎、癌症等,賠償高達港幣150萬元
  • 保費相宜,保費保證五年不變
  • 如同時受保於保柏個人醫保計劃,一旦證實患上主要危疾,即享高達港幣30萬元的免費「醫療附加保障」

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。